Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

When Life Socks You Hard In The Face… November 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 2:52 am

Sorry I’ve been gone so long, but I have a really, really good reason.  Want to see what I got to look at for the past week?

downsized_1119081032[1] (2)
 

Yeah, that’s D in a hospital bed.  She got the flu…really, really bad.  Saturday, the 15th, we went to the museum and she was fine.  When we got home that evening, she just started throwing up every 15 minutes or so.  Since she wasn’t able to keep down her medicine and dehydration really exacerbates her condition, we were admitted into the hospital.  I say “we” because I never leave her side whenever she’s there, so I might as well be admitted too.  We stayed until Monday night and then went home.  She seemed better on Monday.  She had stopped vomiting and was smiling and playing.  Well, apparently, we went home too early.  Monday night was met with lots more vomiting.

Tuesday morning I woke up to T being sick with the flu and myself fighting (and losing) nausea.  Since D had thrown up so much overnight, I took her to the doctor.  She was worried about D’s lethargy and told me to watch her through out the day.  Well, D and I spent the day napping and being sick.  Ron came home sick too midday, so we were all pretty pathetic.  By 4pm, I was feeling better but was worried that D hadn’t really woken up all day.  I called her neurologist who said that was a really bad sign with her condition and told us to bring her in to be admitted ASAP.  So, back to ER we go. 

Ron and T went to my parent’s house and I went to ER with D.  They admitted her, gave her IV fluids, and carefully monitered her until Thursday evening.  During that time, both my parents managed to get sick as well.  This was one killer bug!  Finally, Thursday, we were able to go home and D is doing much better now.  She still isn’t 100% because it’s taking a while for her system to get over the shock of being so sick.  The rest of us are, thankfully, much better.

As you can imagine, my whole life was just turned upside down.  I couldn’t do much all week.  Thankfully, a gal from church came and helped out with the house. (she got sick too!)  And to make matters worse, we found out that D’s condition is progressing much faster than anticipated!  Oy vey!

It’s a good thing we got out when we did, because this is what we had planned for this past Saturday…

Tatem's birthday 051

T’s birthday isn’t actually until this Friday, the 28th, but, for obvious reasons, we needed to have her party a week early. I was worried that we weren’t going to make it out of the hospital in time, but we made it.

On a knitting front, I got about halfway through a sooper sekrit project and started on David’s hat. It’s the Irish Hiking Hat and I’m enjoying knitting it up. I’m using some Bernat (*gasp* ACRYLIC!?!?!) and it’s not too bad. I wanted to make sure it was something that he could clean up really easily since I have a feeling he’ll use it a lot. Plus, the Bernat was on killer sale. I’ve not had too much practice on cables, but I think I’m doing pretty alright on it so far.

knitting 002

I’ve taken all the projects I have knitted and all the ones I need to knit for Christmas and put them in a box. Hopefully, by December 24, I will have only knitted items in the box and no unused yarn.

knitting 003

So, that’s all my news. Here, I’ll leave you with an adorable D foot…
Delaney Shots 008

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!!!

 

One Response to “When Life Socks You Hard In The Face…”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    oh no! See what happens when you read backwards? You miss all the important stuff! I hope everyone is healthy now. I’m so sorry D was hospital bound! =(


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.