Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Couvercle August 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:11 pm

After making that beret for Carla, I was itching to make a hat for myself. You see, now that my hair’s short, I have to “do it” every morning, or I look a little…icky. Well, some days I just don’t want to do it, or I over sleep, or, you know, life happens.

So, I’ve been looking for a hat that I can wear on days like that. I haven’t been too lucky. The one’s I like I can’t afford, the ones I can afford, I don’t like. You know how it goes.

Well, Carla’s hat took one afternoon and one skein of yarn. Can’t get much better than that. Oh wait, it can.

In my stash I happened to have a gorgeous skein of Malabrigo Chunky. I’d gotten it back at the begining of the year from a swap partner. I hadn’t used it yet because I needed to pet it for a while and because I knew that this special yarn needed to become something good.

knitting 008

I love it. I love how it fits and how well the pattern worked with the colorway. I love how it feels and how easy it was to knit. I love everything about it. In fact, my only complaint is that it’s really warm. Since it’s in the hundreds here, a wool hat is a bit much. But, come Winter, I’ll be wearing this sucker all the time.

knitting 010

Pattern: Couvercle by Kira Dulaney
Yarn: Malabrigo Chunky in Stonechat
Needles: US 9
Date Started: August 12, 2009
Date Completed: August 12, 2009
Mods: None, but I did have a gal from the shop do the crochet bits for me. I’m just not a crocheter.

Ron took the pictures for me. I think he did a pretty good job, though he could he could have trried to make me look younger. Way too many wrinkles showing up lately. At least they’re laugh wrinkles…

knitting 011

 

3 Responses to “FO: Couvercle”

  1. Pamela Says:

    Aww… great hat. You look really cute in it.

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Fabulous hat! I love the Stonechat colorway.

  3. […] already made myself one hat, and had to put knitting for myself on hold for a while while I finished up Christmas gifts. But, I […]


Leave a comment