Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Dreams Of Spring Hat I January 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:08 pm

With my hair now really short, I’m noticing two things. 1, my head gets cold now and 2, when I wake up, my hair’s all over the place. So I figure I need several cute hats to keep my head warm and cover up a bad case of bed head in case I oversleep or just don’t feel like doing my hair in the morning.

I’ve already made myself one hat, and had to put knitting for myself on hold for a while while I finished up Christmas gifts. But, I did manage to work a few rows now and again on this:

knitting 001

I was all excited about this hat. It’s a beautiful stranded pattern and I saw so many versions of it on Ravalry, and my LYS had the perfect yarn on sale! Where could I go wrong?

Several places, apparently.

First off, while I thought the two colors were contrasting enough, I have found they aren’t. They are very complimentary and look good together, but you can’t hardly make out the picture. And what’s the point of fair isle if you can’t see the picture?

Also, what I didn’t take into consideration is the fact that a skull cap, no matter how adorable on others, isn’t really my style. Maybe it would work if I was 10 years younger and lived in an area that got snow. But, being 32 in SoCal, yeah, not so much. So, I’m loaning it to my LYS for a bit and then I think I might gift it to my young cousin in North Carolina.

knitting 002

Project: Dreams of Spring Hat I by Jeanne Stevenson (Rav Me!) 

Yarn: Louet Gems Bulky in Sage and Ginger
Needles: US 7
Date Started: November 16 2009
Date Completed: December 21 2009
Notes: Again, I took so long because I’d only do a row or two here and there and I think that’s one of the reasons I’m dissapointed in it. Normally, a hat only takes a day or two, so if it stinks, then you’ve only put a few days worth of work into it. Essentially. I waited a full month for this hat and so my expectaions were higher. (Kind of like when you hear all these people rave about a movie for weeks and then, when you go see it, you’re a little dissapointed). Also, I wrapped every stitch on this hat to see if that would make a big difference in my stranded knitting. I found that it was a bunch more work and time for just a very little pay off. At least the way I was doing it. I’m planning to do a yolk stranded cardigan soon and so I’m thinking I’ll try the philosopher’s wool method. I hear a lot of good things about it.

 

One Response to “FO: Dreams Of Spring Hat I”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Of course, now I read this post and see you’ve tried that method…dang.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.