Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Hello world! October 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 3:48 am

Ok, hi.  Yeah.  Can you tell that this is my first blog?  Yeah, I’m not really sure exactly where to start… especially since I’m pretty sure that absolutely no one will be reading this.  It kind of reminds me of when I worked at a small radion station as a DJ.  It felt so sureal to be talking on the radio because there was no feedback.  No one talked back to me so I felt a little odd. 

Well, I suppose I should tell all you imaginary people who I am.  My name is Cristi.  Yes, that is how it’s spelled.  Up until a few days ago, I thought I was the only one who spelled it that way.  I have since found different as I found Turtlegirl76 who also spells it right.  In fact, she’s the one who gets the credit for this blog…as much credit as could be gained from this pathetic first attempt.  Anyway, it was her blog that inspired me, if you will.  If you haven’t had the honor to read it, you definately should.

So, as I was saying, I’m Cristi.  I’m 31 and have been married for 10 years to R.  I have two small daughters, T and D.  Since this is a knitting blog, I’m going to keep my personal life a very minor part of it.  I’ve been knitting for about 3 years.  I took it up shortly after T was born because I was a new mother and feeling like I needed to craft things with mine own hands as my mother did before me and her mother before her.  I already did crossstiching often but found it wasn’t really a craft I could carry with me and work on if I had a spare 5 minutes.  I tried to learn to crochet first, but, being left handed, I found it extremely frustrating.  I had to constantly figure out how to do everything backwards from the way Mom did it and it made my brain hurt.

Then I tried kntting and it was like the heavens opened up and angels began to sing.  I loved it from the start.  The problem I had was that I thought all you could really make was scarves, hats, mittens, and sweaters…and all for really cold weather.  Well, I’m in sunny southern California and we have no really cold weather.  I took a while before I found that the things you can knit is only limited to your imagination.  This was reinforced when I recently joined Ravelry and got a look at all their patterns!  I swear my queue has no less than 50 items.

Since this is my first post, I wanted to make it just introductory.  In my next one, I’ll show you my current WIPs and perhaps a few FOs.

So, here I am.  Still a relatively new knitter and a brand new blogger.  I’m going to try to keep up with a new blog every few days.  We’ll see how I do.  Also, I’ll post any yarn pron I haave, but, unfortunatly, we are a poor family and my pron is few and far between.  Don’t feel too bad for me, though.  I manage to get enough to support my habit.

 

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    You did it! The blog looks great. You’ll get the hang of it! Poke around your dashboard (where you typed this in) and above the text box you should see some buttons to help you add stuff to your posts. =)


Leave a Reply

