Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I believe in keeping my coffee cozy October 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 3:32 pm

One of my oldest and dearest friends is a Starbucks addict.  I mean it.She hits Starbucks at least once a day, more often two or three times.  She goes so often, all the Starbucks she frequents know exactly what her order is.

Anyway, I haven’t seen her since D was born last December.  (It’s hard to get together with a none kid person when you are crawling with kids.)  Well, we finally have a date to meet up next week.  One guess where we are meeting.  That’s right, Starbucks.

I thought it would be a cute idea to make her a little something just for fun.  Enter Ravelry patterns.  I found these really cute coffee cozy patterns and picked this coffee cup sleeve.  It took me all of one hour to put together and is much more simple than I would have liked to make.  THe problem with making a more difficult one was this, all the patterns I found require size 6dpns and I don’t have them.  And since I’ve gotten so much yarn over the past week, I couldn’t justify buying needles just to make a cozy.  The pattern I use called for size 8 needles and was worked flat and then sewn together.  I have plenty of size 8 needles.  The cozy came out alright and I can always make her another more fabulous one at another date. 

But the thing I’m really enjoying is these socks!

If you recall, I could only get one skein so I decided to make these socks for my 3 year old, T.  Well, I finished the first and found I had made it too short.  It’s not going over her heel at all.  This is when it’s good to have two daughters.  Now the socks are for my 9 month old, D.  They are a little long in the foot, but that just means there is room to grow.  As you can see, I’m working on the second one now.  Then, if there is enough yarn, I’ll try again on a pair for T.  Aren’t they cute, though?  I love the little scruchy-poofs at the top.  It’s so simple, just purl for four rows and knit for two.  You do that four times and it come out like that.  I got the pattern out of 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders.  It’s the cozy socks for kids.  It’s supposed to have worsted weight yarn and size 8 needles, but I really wanted this yarn, so I’m using twos instead.  It works out.

 

2 Responses to “I believe in keeping my coffee cozy”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Cute! The socks are so fun looking! Love how the yarn is striping up.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Great looking projects and I bet your friend will be thrilled with her very own Starbucks cozy. Cute idea.


Leave a Reply

