Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I finally did it! October 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 12:45 am

Well, it’s done.  It only took me since early April, but it’s done.  I was supposed to have it finished by September 26, and it’s October 12, but it is, in fact, done…

I’ve actually had it knit and sewn together for a while, but I was dragging my heels on the single crochet around the front edge.  You see, I don’t do crochet.  I’ve tried, but I’m left handed and am just plain stupid when it comes to crochet.  It makes my head hurt trying to find out which way to turn the hook and my hand ends up hurting from holding the yarn.  But, because I love my mother, I did the single crochet on this cardigan.  Mom offered to do it for me, but I said no.  I had started this sweater, and, by golly, I was going to finish it.  It took me about 2 hours to get it done and my neck and shoulders were stiff at the end, but I did it.  And it doesn’t look too terribly bad either.

Mom wore it to church this morning and it doesn’t look bad.  It’s a little bit on the large side and the arms are a tad too long.  But we are hoping to be able to wash it and get it to shrink just a smidge. 

I’m glad it’s done, but it’s also a bit bittersweet.  I’ve been working on this for so long and really had a feel for the pattern that I think I shall miss the little guy.  I’m thinking I may have to do the Jaywalker scarf since it looks to be the same pattern.

 

3 Responses to “I finally did it!”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Nice! Good for you for conquering the crochet! I imagine it must be tough to wield a hook with the let hand but you did it! And it looks great!

  2. Kittenears Says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous!

  3. Erin Says:

    It’s beautiful Cristi! Good work!


Leave a Reply

