Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Sock clubs and blog contests October 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:18 pm

I have recently become obsessed with knitting blogs.  I have about 20 in my Google reader and try to check them every day.  You know tha tif it was up to me, I’d just spend all day long doing knitting related things.  However, the kiddos don’t respond well to that.

Anyway, I’ve noticed that there are several of these blogs that have periodic contests for their readers. Genius!!!  I love the whole idea!  One of these days, when I come into some yarn that I’d be willing to part with, I’ll have to host a contest of my own.  Of course, I’ll have to get some reader first. ;D  One of the easiest blog contest out there is Garnfiti’s.  All you have to do to enter is write a comment on her blog!  How easy is that!  And the prize?  Her own handspun!!!  I’m totally hoping tha tI can get a piece of that action!  Go write her a comment right now!

 

 

My other new favorite thing is sock clubs.  There are several on Ravelry.  And I’ve seen a few around in the blogs.  The basic premise is that you pay a fee, (sometimes monthly, somethimes quarterly) and they send you sock yarn.  Now, you may be asking yourself, “How is this different from just buying the yarn straight?”  Well, I’ll tell you.  In most cases, you get yarn that the general public cannot buy!  Also, you often get a pattern that was written just for that yarn and colorway!  And let’s not forget special goodies! 

I’m not in a finacial position to join one now, but when I am, I plan on the Loopy Ewe’s cloub.  I’ve been reading about it and have drooled over their website, and I think that’s the right club for me.  I’ve asked for gift certs for the website for Christmas.  Maybe I’ll get enough and be able to join after the holidays.

 

One Response to “Sock clubs and blog contests”

  1. JC Says:

    Hey, I loved having your comment on my blog. How’d you come across it?

    Contests are a really nice way of meeting new people and getting a little attention on my blog… it’s always interesting to see all the people who comment and I love being able to ship off prizes to people… probably because I love getting gifts!

    Looking to hearing more of you!


Leave a Reply

