Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Well, thank God that’s over… November 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:13 pm

That last week or so before election time just about drives me crazy.  I get so tired of hearing the schpeal, seeing the commercials, and getting the phone calls.  But, it’s over and we have the first black president ever.  I’m happy that this has happened in my life time…even if I didn’t choose him.

But, this isn’t a political blog, it’s a knitting blog, right?  So let’s get on with the knitting!  I realize that last week I promised you that I would be finished with my MIL’s vest by this week.  I lied.  I, in fact, did not work on it at all the past week.  It looks the same as last week…
Knitting 002
Yeah, I know, you’ve lost all faith in me. But, as I said in my post yesterday, I’ve been sick and working on other things. Last Thursday, I went to my MOPs meeting (Mothers Of Preschoolers, for those who don’t know) and found out that tomorrow there will be an ornament exchange. The idea was to get a $10 dollar ornament and exchange it. (Hence the name) Well, this being the begining of the month, I had to pay the mortgage and the extra tener was not available. So I wracked my brain and remembered these little babies in 101 Designer One Skein Wonders…
knitting 004
I know you saw them yesterday, but they are so cute, I had to show you again. I have finished the second sock and just have the sweater left to do today. I figure that the time and effort put into making these makes them worth more than $10, so I’m safe for the exchange tomorrow.

I also cast this on last night…
knitting 002
My best friend’s mom (Hi Erin!) has breast cancer. I can’t do much to help her, especially since she’s several states away, but I can knit her a chemo cap. So that’s what I’m doing. It’s the Pi Topper Chemo Cap. I’m really enjoying the knit and it’s knitting up fast, but I have the wrong needles. Its calls for size 7 circulars, but I only have DPNs. I worked as long as I could on the DPNs, but eventually had to change. I have 8s in circular, so I decided to use those. The only problem is that I don’t have the right length. You need 16″ to 20″ and all I have is one 12″ and a 24″. Just my luck to have one one size too small and one one size too big. The little one can’t even be use to do two circulars properly, so I’m jimmy riggin’ it. It would totally make a proper knitter cringe, but it’s working alright. I will probably go get new needles if I make another hat, but using the 2 circulars as if they were straights is working for the moment.

Wel, there are only 7 more weeks until Christmas and I only have one project done so far. But, I only have 7 left and they aren’t really hard, long projects like a sweater or shawl, just little things like gloves. I figure I can still make it. Especially since I have Thanksgiving weekend when I will have lots of family around to take the young ones off my hands and I can get a lot more done in less time.

On a totally separate note, we have finally gotten some fall weather here in sunny soCal. I’m not kidding when I say that last week we were in shorts and running the AC. Right now, it’s 52 and beautiful. I told God that I would go through the summers here with minimal complaint as long as He would give me a proper Autumn and Winter. I thought that He maybe had gone back on His end of the bargain.

 

2 Responses to “Well, thank God that’s over…”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Cute ornaments! Those are perfect!

  2. Erin Says:

    I think it’s so sweet that you’re making a hat for my mom. It means a lot to me that so many people care.


Leave a Reply

