Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Socks for Big Footed People… November 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:41 pm

…Take a lot of yarn!  I’ve been making these socks for Texas Uncles  (who wears a size 11.5, I found out)  and I’ve had to break into my third skein!  Wanna see?
knitting 001
Yup, finished one last night. I’m a bit worried, though. Ron tried it on after I was done and said it felt tight in the foot. I don’t know if it’s just that he’s so used to the stretched out socks he wears or what. All I know is that he only wear a 10.5, so if it’s too small for him… He does have really wide, Fred Flinstone type feet, though. I’m taking a trip to the LYS today to see what needs to be done. If this one is fine and I just can’t use my husband’s platter feet for modeling, then I only have about 3 inches left of the second one and I can do the toe. Hopefully, these will be finished today and I can cross another project off the list.
Let’s see, what else? Well, the MIL’s vest is still on the needles. I’m dragging my feet on that, I know, but I’m anxious to get some of the other stuff done. That last bit is so brainless, that it would be perfect for the week before Christmas when my brain’s fried anyway. I won’t bore you with another picture since it looks the same.
I will show you this, though…
knitting 002
No, it’s not your imagination, it’s smaller than last time. You see, I didn’t have the write size circular needle. I needed a 7, but only had an 8. I tried it for a while on the 8, but it was coming out too big, so I tore it all out and will have to get a 7. It’s such a sad thing to rip out hours of work. Luckily, since it’s a hat, there wasn’t that much to rip.
That’s it for the WiPs, tomorrow I plan to show you what we did last Saturday and intoduce you to the newest member of our clan. Stay tuned!

 

One Response to “Socks for Big Footed People…”

  1. Erin Says:

    Newest member of your clan? Did you brother pop the question officially?


Leave a Reply

