Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

K, I’m So Late With This… December 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 12:21 am

I had gotten a few RAKs and a contest prize over November and I had really meant to get them up here, but everytime I tried, something else happened.  So, here is my attempt to put them all in one post.

First, let’s start with my contest win.  Garnfiti  had a comment contest on her blog in which, if your name got drawn, you got some of her handspun.  I won the last week of the contest and got this:
knitting 005
Isn’t it pretty? I haven’t got it in hand so I can’t tell you what it is, but each skein is about 75 yards. I’m not sure yet what I’m going to make out of it, but I’m leaning towards something for T. Also in the package was a very cute crochet bowl and an assortment of buttons. One of the buttons is just perfect for the Chemo cap I’m making!

In the RAK group, for November’s wishlist, I had asked for some yarn in manly colors. Well, Madcraftermom really came through with this package:
knitting

The light blue is sock yarn for my sock blanket. The grey Peer Gynt was used to make my brother’s Topi Hat for Christmas and the green is being set aside for some future need.

Also on Ravelry, I am park of the Traveling Scarves Secret Swap. We get a package from our partner every month through March.  Here is my November package:knitting 001
There’s some loverly smelling soap that is already being used in my showers, some very yummy tea, and some adorable leaf stitch markers.

And, last but not least, remember these?
Knitting 022Knitting 005Knitting 003
I loved this single skein so much and tried to make socks forthe girls out of it, but they didn’t fit either one. Then, trying for myself, the best I could get was bad ankle socks. I was sad because I love the yarn so much.
Well, Turtlegirl76 sent me a little surprise RAK that looked like this:
knitting 001

Yeah, that’s two skeins of the sock yarn, plus two skeins of another very pretty orange yarn that I’m going to have to knit up into something wonderful soon. She sent a note saying that she’d seen this grab bag at her LYS and had to get it for me so that I could knit up a at least one pair of decent socks. What a lifesaver!
Thanks to everyone who sent me a package, they have all been greatly appreciated! You are all dolls in my book!

 

One Response to “K, I’m So Late With This…”

  1. JC Says:

    I’m so glad you got the yarn, and I’m so happy that you posted it! I’ll be excited to see what you make from it.


Leave a Reply

