Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Ribbed Mini-Scarf December 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:01 pm

A little while back. Mom had asked me to make her a little scarf to wear when she rides on the back of Dad’s bike.  Apparently, there is a little bit of skin that is exposed above her jacket and under her helmet.  Her jacket is grey and yellow, so she requested a variegated yellow for color. 

Well, I poured over patterns.  My first thought was to make her a pretty cowl and showed her some patterns.  She thought they were pretty, but didn’t want anything to pull over her head.  Well, that limited things greatly.  I then had to either find a pattern neck warmer that had a button closer, or adapt a pattern to close with a button.  I wasn’t sure what to do, but I did manage to find the yarn I wanted.
knitting 004
I went to the LYS and looked through their Lamb’s Pride book and saw this colorway. It’s perfect, I think, for what Mom wants. It’s the Prairie Goldenrod colorway, 85% wool and 15% mohair. So it’ll be warn and soft. I haven’t tried wearing it yet, but it felt nice on my hands knitting it.
Anyway, I happened to come across the blog, Shut Up, I’m Counting, and she was lamenting over a gift she was making for a friend. It was the Ribbed Mini-Scarf and I thought to myslef, “Hey!”
That was just what I was looking for! Simple and easy to make. Stylish yet comfortable. Pretty yet useful. So I set out to make it, and it took very little time. Wanna see?
knitting 001
I still need to add a button, but it’s all done! I made it a little bit longer than the pattern becasue I wanted to amke sure it was comfortable on Mom’s neck. Here’s and artsy fartsy picture:
knitting 004
This also means that all I have left of my Christmas knitting is to finish the vest for the MIL, make one more potholder for Uncle and a dice bag. And I still have almost 2 weeks! I’m totally gonna make it! Yay!

Project: Ribbed Mini-Scarf by Celeste Glassel
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Prairie Goldenrod
Needles: Size 8 straights
Started: December 9, 2008
Completed: December 11, 2008
Mods: I made it a bit longer.

knitting 005

Treakle says: That yarn looks like me. Good choice in colors.

 

One Response to “FO: Ribbed Mini-Scarf”

  1. Erin Says:

    That’s really cool! She’s going to love it! Glad Treakle approved too.


Leave a Reply

