Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I’m Famous!!!! December 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 9:55 pm

Well, maybe not famous, but I have done some pretty cool things in the public eye a few times in my life. What, you ask? (play along)

Well, when I was in junior high, I was an extra on a little show called Kids Incorporated. That may not mean much to you, but if you are a child of the 80’s, then you realize how huge that was. It was only a walk on role, but I had at least 30 seconds of screen time.

Jump forward to 1997, I was 20 and had just moved from my parent’s home here in southern California to Petersburg, Alaska. I spent 6 weeks volunteering at a radio station there that was owned by Send International. I was a DJ with my own daily 2 hour oldies show.

Same year, same state, different island. This time on Sitka, Alaska, I happened to walk into a local store (they are all local) just as they were getting ready to shoot a commercial. They asked me if they could film me walking into the store and then browsing.

So, to date, I’ve been on radio, local and national TV. But none of those experiences hold a candle to what happened to me this week.

I named a yarn!!!!

Well, to be specific, I named one of the colorways that The Alpaca Yarn Company will be putting out in January for their sock yarn, Paca Peds. They’ve been having a naming cotest on their blog asking readers to help name the ten new colorways. Well, my entry got chosen for this yarn.

Pretty, aint it? Not only do I get the prestige and honor of knowing I chose the name for this colorway, but I also get a skein of it!!!! I’m so flabbergasted because I love, love, LOVE this colorway!!! It’s hands down my favorite of the ones they’e shown. And you all know how much I loves me some sock yarn!!!! I can’t wait to get it and knit it up.

Want to name some yarn? Well, they are still looking for names. Color 7 and 8 are up already and 9 and 10 should be coming soon. Go to Paca-Blog and check it out!

By the way, The Alpaca Yarn Company is the ones who made this yarn…
knitting 008

And, trust me, it’s scrumptious! I think that everyone needs to buy their yarn, you won’t regret it!

ETA: As so graceously pointed out by Erin, I neglected to tell you the name of the colorway. We won’t point out that you can just click on the link and see it there, but the name it Kermit and Miss Piggy. Go look at the yarn, you’ll understand why.

 

2 Responses to “I’m Famous!!!!”

  1. Erin Says:

    You didn’t tell everyone the name of the yarn! Or are you contractually obligated to not disclose the information at this time? 🙂

  2. […] of TAYC, their yarn is soft and the colors are great. And they gave me free yarn when they let me name a sock yarn colorway. You may remember that I got this yarn as a give away from my LYS. I never did find out why someone […]


Leave a Reply

