Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Triple FO: Pi Topper Chemo Hat, Geek Chic Dice Bag, Deep Sea Flower Dice Bag December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:26 pm

I know that tripling up FOs is a little bit cheating, but these are small FOs and I don’t think they really need their own post. Keeping that in mind, this post will be a little bit longer than normal.

K, first off, remember this?
knitting 002
Well, now it looks like this…
knitting 001
You must forgive how bad I look in this picture. Neither of my children slept well, so I’m tired. Also, please forgive the t-shirt. I own only one proper t-shirt, but it is a really cool one…
knitting
Project: Pi Topper Chemo Cap by Corey Laflamme
Yarn: King Cole Smooth in white and royal blue
Needle: Size 7 circs and dpns
Started: November 4, 2008
Completed: December 18, 2008
Mods: Nothing, though I do want to point out that it took me so long because I had to wait for my circs to become available.

Secondly, we have our girly dice bag. Ron’s BFF and his wife are big D&D players. Ron thought it would be a good idea to make them matching dice bags. I originally was going to make them out of the same yarn, but the stuff I bought was a little too girlie, so I only used it for hers, see?
knitting 007
Project: Deep Sea Flower Dice Bag by Nina Hyland
Yarn: Cascade Pearls in Black, Purple, and Lavender
Needles: Size 7
Started: December 1, 2008
Completed: December 2, 2008
Mods: The original pattern calls for Noro and I think it looks better in Noro. I, however, found the Pearls on sale and it worked ok.

Lastly, we have the manly dice bag…
knitting 003knitting 004

Project: Geek Chic Dice Bag by Pamela Northrup
Yarn: I’ve missplaced the band, but I think it was Red Heart
Needles: Size 5
Started: December 17, 2008
Completed: December 17, 2008
Mods: Nothin’, but I have got to say that I LOVE this pattern! It’s so easy and made so much sense! I made the medium, and it took almost no time at all. I’m not a dice player, but I’m thnking I need to find something that needs to be kept in a bag so I can make more!

 

 

So, thus FO post means that my Christmas knitting is officially DONE!!!!  And with a week left over!  I can’t believe I got it all done.  You gotta think, since mid October, I have started and completed 16 projects!  Admittedly, some of them were small, like the bookmarks, but till, not too shabby.  Now, I’m off to knit something for myself!

 

2 Responses to “Triple FO: Pi Topper Chemo Hat, Geek Chic Dice Bag, Deep Sea Flower Dice Bag”

  1. trillian42 Says:

    Hey! That second bag is my pattern! 😀 I’m so glad you liked it – I made those for our D&D-playing buddies, and it worked out pretty well, which is why I wrote it up.

    And you can certainly find lots of fun things that need cute little drawstring bags. If they are a bit bigger than dice, you can always work longer before starting the decreases so that the bag is a little deeper.

  2. Erin Says:

    The chemo cap is wonderful, Cristi. It means so much to me that you would do something so special for my mom. You are an amazing friend.


Leave a Reply

