Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I Made Out Like A Bandit!!! December 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:56 am

It was truly a kntters Christmas at my house this year. I got gobs of stuff that would make any knitter a happy camper. Let me show you…
First, remember how I told you David works at Michaels? Well, he got me a truly loverly project bag that he said was just sitting in the back storeroom.
knitting 001knitting 002knitting 003
It’s gorgeous, and so spacious! It’ll be perfect for my next big project!

Next, Uncle got me some Pattons sock yarn, a pattern book, and 4 straight needles, also from Michael’s. Well, I don’t use straight needles, and the patterns weren’t for me, so he told me to take it all back and get what I want. So I did. I got some more Patton and some Red Heart Heart and Sole sock yarn. I figure it can’t be that bad, and I can make a pair of socks for only $10 bucks, which is good for us po’ folk.
knitting 006
The purple Patons Mom picked out. It’s stretchy which is interesting. I forgot to take a picture of the Patons that Uncle got for me, but it’s shades of brown. (oh, and I got 2 skeins of each, though I only shot one.) I also got a pattern book that looked interesting, though I must say that I’m very dissappointed with their selection.
knitting 007

Then, my brother got me this…
knitting 004knitting 005knitting 006

I’ve wanted one of these ever since I first saw them on Turtlegilr76’s blog, such a clever idea! If you’re interested, you can go here to get them. I also got the Emergency Knitting tool kit that included a mini tape measure, crochet hook, darning needle, and two stitch markers, all the perfect size. As you can see I’ve alread got it filled with needles and a skein of sock yarn, and it’s in my car awaiting the next knitting emergency.

Texas Uncle and Aunt got me a $20 gift certificate to The Loopy Ewe, and I’ve already used it to get the yarn to make the Transition Gloves! Oh, and Mom totally surprised me with a $50 gift card to my LYS, Closeknit! While I did use some of it to buy a set of Addi Turbos in size 2, I’m saving the rest for when something really catches my eye.

But, wait, there’s more! I got my TSG secret swap package on the 26th. In it was some partial skeins of Tofutsies that I think I can combine and make an awesome pair of socks, some Artyarn Supermerino8, a totally cute duckie tape measure, and the strangest sock needles I’ve ever seen.
knitting 001knitting 002
They are 9″ circs! They look like little doll needles, I’m gonna have to try them soon! I wonder if they are comfortable to use.

So, I’m a happy knitter, with my “belly” full of good yarn. And I still have stuff to look forward to! I have my complimentary skein of PacaPeds in the colorway I named, I won a random drawing at Turtlegirl’s blog, and I have my totally awesome sock yarn coming from the Loopy Ewe…

….I think I might explode…

 

2 Responses to “I Made Out Like A Bandit!!!”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    That’s an awesome Christmas haul! Your package hasn’t left Charlotte yet, but I’ll let you know when it does!

  2. […] January 8, 2009 Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:02 pm Remember back when I listed the Christmas knitting loot I got?  There was a gift cert to The Loopy Ewe.  I wanted it to be able to make the Transition […]


Leave a Reply

