Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

2009 Will Be A Better Year… December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 8:04 pm

It has to be. 2008 just really sucked.

Now, before you start thinking I’m just a grumpy gus, let me explain. In 2008, I was sued wrongfully, Ron was almost laid off, and D was hospitalized 6 times.

Yes, 6 times. The visits ranged from 4 days to 2 weeks. And we had to put our lives on hold every time. I stayed in the hospital with her 24/7, so T had to stay at my folk’s and Ron had to live in an empty house, go to work and worry.

But, there are some good things that happened. Ron did not lose his job, D will survive, and the lawsuit? Well, that’s still ongoing. But if the world is fair, the judge will see that the whole thing is wrong and will throw it out. One can hope…

But, 2009 will be better! And I’m taking some steps to ensure this. My 2009 resolutions are: (drum roll, please)

1. I will knit more! I put this one first because I know I can keep it. I didn’t knit much last year until mid September. I’m not waisting that kind of time this year.

2. I will lose weight! I know that everyone says that, but I really need to. I need to set a good example for the girls. Before I got preggo with D, I had lost 35 pounds and felt great…then I got pregnant…kids run everything

3. I will find some way to bring in some money! This comes with a disclaimer. It must be doing something that I can bring the kids to. Ron works and goes to school, so I have little or no childcare. Wish I could make money knitting…

4. I will make this blog have readers and commenters! I see all kinds of blogs that have hundreds of readers and dozens of comments on each post. I try to follow their examples, but I think I’m doing something wrong. I don’t know how many readers I have, but I only get the odd comment from 3 or 4 people. If anyone has any ideas of how to get a larger audience, let me know.

I’m sure there are other things I probably need to do this year, but I’m keeping things simple.

Happy New Year!!!

 

3 Responses to “2009 Will Be A Better Year…”

  1. Erin Says:

    I have 2 of the same resolutions you do. Weight and money. What would be really cool would be to earn money by losing weight. Now that would be incentive!

    I’m signing up with Weight Watchers today or tomorrow and AM going to stick to it! With the weather being nice, I have no excuses not to get out and walk. Plus it will be good for Caleb to get fresh air too.

  2. Erin Says:

    P.S. You can always count on me for comments! 🙂

  3. turtlegirl76 Says:

    I lost 25 pounds last year on Weight Watchers and I’m going to go back on it to lose the 10 I gained back and the extra 5 I never lost. It’s a great program!

    I hope the lawsuit thing goes away. If it’s wrongful, then let’s hope common sense will prevail.

    As for commenters, well, you’ve been on Ravelry for what, not quite 2 months yet right? That will help. Make sure you blog about the specific items you knit, then go into Rav and link your blog post to that item, and share it with the groups you’re in that the project is relevant to. That may help attract some readers.

    Join blog rings (ringsurf is the primary host of these, look in my sidebar for a few). Post regularly! I’ve got a regular posting schedule that people can rely on. M-F, Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays are for FOs, Cats, Traveling Scarves and Spinning (spinning is mondays if I do it). Wednesdays I always do a WiP post and Fridays, yarn pr0n. I’m predictable, and my readers seem to like it.

    Once you get a few regulars, maybe have a contest? You can ask your readers to link you on their blog as an entry or something. I’ve seen that work.

    Good luck in the new year! Be looking for your package on Friday or Saturday!


Leave a Reply

