Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

What I Will Be Doing When The Ball Drops… December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:30 pm

….Is hopefully finishing these…
knitting 010

I have turned both heels and am about 3.5 inches into the foot.

knitting 009

I know that doesn’t seem very far along in the foot, but you must remember that Texas Aunt has the world’s smallest feet. She wears a size 4.5 shoe, and, according to my handy dandy sock sizer thingie, that means that the foot of her sock needs to be 8 5/8 inches. Two of that is toe, so I need to knit only 6 5/8 inches, and since I have 3.5 done already, I’m close!

knitting 012

I tried to “design” my own socks this time by putting in a cable off center in the leg. The problem is that the yarn is too busy even for a small, simple cable, so it doesn’t show up very well. Also, I messed the cable up. I wasn’t paying attention and, once I realized my mistake, I was too far ahead to take it out. Yeah, I know I could have just frogged it, but I’m lazy…and I’m on a timed schedule…and it would have been that much harder with two socks…and…I’m lazy! Hey, I don’t have to justify my actions to you!

Anyway, I just decided to take artistic license and say it was part of the design. To a non knitter, that makes perfect sense. I do, however, plan to make these socks again for myself using a better yarn for the cable. I think the idea is good, just bad materials.

That brings me to a conundrum. At what point can you say you actually designed a sock? I mean, I didn’t come up with the heel or toe or anything, I just added a cable that I found in a stitch pattern book. Is this my design that I could put out there, or should I just keep it to myself? I’m not looking to make any money, it would be a free pattern, I just want to know how the rules work.

knitting 011

 

One Response to “What I Will Be Doing When The Ball Drops…”

  1. Erin Says:

    Wow, you’ll be up till midnight? You’re a party animal. If I do make it that long I’ll probably be doing something exciting like reading a book or playing my DS.


Leave a Reply

