Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: The BFF Socks January 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:33 pm

Well, the holidays are over, and all gifts have been gifted. That means that I can show you my Sooper Seekrit project. You see, my best friend, Erin is one of the 3 readers of this blog, so I had to keep it under wraps.  So, without further ado…
knitting 003

Project: The BFF Socks by Cookie A.
Yarn: Regia Multi Effekt Color
Needles: First one was done on size 2 dpns, the second was done on magic loop. I liked the magic loop much better.
Started: November 18, 2008
Finished: December 9, 2008
Mods: The original pattern called for something like 9 repeats for the leg. In the interest of saving time and because I didn’t think Erin would like socks so high, I only did 4 repeats.
knitting 002

This was my very first cable and it took me some time to get used to them. I didn’t like the dpns, because they kept falling outof the loops for the last cable twist. That’s one of the resons such a time passed between starting and finishing them. I did the first one in a week when D was in the hospital and then took a break for a few weeks, bought a 40″ circ and then started again. The second took only a few days and was much more comfortable.
knitting 001

I made these socks for her because they are the BFF sock and she is my very best friend. We’ve been friends since I was 5, so that’s, what, 26 years? Wow, that’s a long time! While we’ve had our ups and downs through the years, I think our friendship is stronger now than it ever was. We are able to commiserate husband and children woes and that helps keep my sanity. Plus, she is the most witty person I know.
knitting 006

I think that the pattern would have been better on a semi solid yarn, because some of the cables get lost. I used this yarn, howeve, becasue Erin had said on one of my pron posts that she really liked this one. It’s kind of cool how they knit up, very festive.
knitting 011

 

3 Responses to “FO: The BFF Socks”

  1. Erin Says:

    Aww shucks! I’m wearing them right now! They’re super comfy and warm! Love ’em!

  2. Dee Says:

    LOVE them! I’m addicted to sock knitting. Mainly just do plain old stockinette from a basic pattern. I think I’ve done about 7 pairs to date….defintitely my fav thing to knit. I just finished a pair in Regia for my S-i-l for Christmas and they were s hit.

    BTW, great blog! Love the pic of FOs.

  3. Jane Says:

    Well, I love your blog and your knits and your luscious wool pictures. So add one reader to your list! And best wishes for the New Year.


Leave a Reply

