Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

My Favorite Yarn Is Free Yarn… January 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:17 pm

I have two proper WIPs today and both of them are being knit with yarn that is absolutely gorgeous…and soft…..and beautiful…..and free! 

You see, they were all gifted to me.  I love free yarn, especially when it’s better yarn than the stuff I can afford.

First off we have socks:

Knitting 004

This is some left over Tofutsies that my Travel Scarf Group Big Swap Partner (say that 5x fast) sent me last month. I’m not sure how much there is, but I think there enough.

Knitting 008

These are becoming a pair of short simple stockinette socks with a twist. The twist is that I’m going to use that lighter pink to make the heel and toe. Now I’ve never done that before, but I figure it can’t be that hard….I mean, Haines does it on their men’s socks all the time, right? ;o)

Next we have the softest yarn I’ve ever felt…

Knitting 017

This is The Alpaca Yarn Company’s(TAYC) Paca Paints in Vineyard. Now, I’m a huge fan of TAYC, their yarn is soft and the colors are great. And they gave me free yarn when they let me name a sock yarn colorway. You may remember that I got this yarn as a give away from my LYS. I never did find out why someone didn’t want this yarn, but the only worthy excuse for giving it up is an allergy to alpaca. This yarn is gorgeous! And did I mention it’s soft?

This is becoming the Ribbed Lace Bolero by Kelly Maher. I picked out the pattern for it when I first got the yarn and had just been waiting for the time to knit it. Well, the time is now! I know you can’t see much in the picture, but it doesn’t look like much yet.

This next isn’t really a WIP because I haven’t cast on the second one yet. But it’s not a FO either. I finished my first Noro sock!  It’s the Snowdrop sock by Sara Morris

Knitting 001

I’m not perfectly happy with it, but it’s nice. The foot it a tad bit too long, the bind off is a tad bit too tight, but I can fix both of these in the second sock. I think I liked the pattern a little bit better in the model shot that actually on my foot, but, all in all, I like the sock and the pattern was fun to make. Now I’ve just got to get the second one done. I just realized that I still don’t have a pair of socks for myself. I have plenty of singles…hmm, maybe I should knit my socks two at a time…

 

2 Responses to “My Favorite Yarn Is Free Yarn…”

  1. Erin Says:

    Eek! I love the rainbow effect on the sock! Preeetty!

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Awesome socks! The yardage on tofutsies is incredible so I bet you’ll be just fine.


Leave a Reply

