Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Mmmm, Yummy Yarn January 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:02 pm

Remember back when I listed the Christmas knitting loot I got?  There was a gift cert to The Loopy Ewe.  I wanted it to be able to make the Transition Gloves by Kerin Dimeler.  I had wishlisted the ShubuiKnits yarn in the colors I wanted so that I would be ready if I got the money.

Well, Christmas day I logged onto the Loopy Ewe only to discover that they were out of both the pattern and the yarn I wanted.  I searched all over their site trying to get the colors I originally wanted, yellow or orange and red, but I couldn’t find them in 50g hanks.  I was getting frustrated because I didn’t want to have to wait any longer.  I had already waited months and now I wanted my yarn!

After doing a bit of research, I found out that there is not just a  Transition Gloves, but also Transition Socks!  So, I figured I could get two 100g hanks and make one set of each.  How awesome is that?  Matching gloves and socks!  So, I tweaked my color choises just a tad and got this…

Knitting 001

Black Bunny Fibers! I’ve never used this yarn before, but I’ve heard good things and I love the colors. They are 100% blue-face leicester superwash wool. There are about 400 yards each, which should be plenty to get a pair of socks and gloves.

Knitting 004

The first colorway is called Grassy Knoll. I can’t get over how much I love this green. As you can see, it’s not pure solid, there are varying shades of greeny goodness. But, that won’t be a problem with the gloves because the other skein is enough of a contrast…

Knitting 003

This colorway is Fresh Sqeezed. Well, we all know how I feel about orange, so this hank makes me very happy.

I had a bit of a problem getting the pattern. As I said earlir, Loopy Ewe had sold out, and I couldn’t buy it on Ravelry. I quick email to the designer got me KnitPurl’s website and I was able to get it from them. It came rather quickly and was wrapped up nicely and there was a handwritten note thanking me for my order. The only complaint I had was that they charged me $6.50 in shipping, which I think is a bit excessive. Even Loopy Ewe, who also has a set shipping price, will adjust your shipping cost when you only get a pattern. So, in essence, I spent $12.50 on a $6.00 pattern.

Not that I won’t buy from KnitPurl again, I’ll just never order a sole pattern from them again.

Knitting 006

 

One Response to “Mmmm, Yummy Yarn”

  1. beverly Says:

    well, now you have four readers (per your comments on the knit ring.) those yarns are yummy!

    (I hope flippy survives…..)


Leave a Reply

