Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Socks For D= Fail January 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:13 am

K, I have decided that I need a pattern for toddler socks in fingering weight.  I can no longer kid myself.

Remember these?

Knitting 005

Cute, right? Yeah, they don’t fit. They’re too small. I cast on 30 stitches and D’s feet are just too fat. So, I adjusted…

Knitting 008

Not so cute…I cast on 40 and they don’t fit either. I can’t really explain it, they just won’t stay on. And they are funky looking.

The pattern I’ve been using is the Cozy Kids Socks from 101 Designer One Skein Wonders. The pattern is cute and I’m sure I could use it to make adorable socks…if I used the worsted weight it calls for. Fingering weight, however, doesn’t work.

So, I’ve decided to stop trying to knit D socks until I find a pattern using  fingering weight to make socks for wee ones. Well, I might try the above mentioned pattern with worsted and see how that works, but it’s really for older kid’s feet.

Grrr, you’d think baby socks would be easy…

 

2 Responses to “Socks For D= Fail”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Well, you need to make sure you’re getting the right gauge but yeah, it can be tricky. I have a sock design computer program that I could try and plug some numbers in if you want to e-mail me. I’ll need some foot measurements. Length heel to toe. ankle and foot. And your gauge.

  2. Maegan Says:

    What a fun blog. I knit the North Country socks for my fat footed toddler and baby. Pretty simply pattern and seem to stay on. Good luck. Here is the link
    http://www.valleycafe.com/knitting/sock-pattern.html


Leave a Reply

