Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO- Texas Aunt Socks January 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:28 am

First off, I need to apologize for the fact that I have no pictures of these socks modeled.  The reason is simple, Texas Aunt has the smallest feet in the world, a 4.5 shoe size.  Since I wear an 8.5, there’s no way I’m gonna be able to cram my feet in there.  In fact, the only people around here with smaller feet are the girls.  And T takes after her great aunt and has dinky feet too.  Let me just say that T gets hand me down shoes from 2 year olds and she’s 4.  I’m totally not exagerating.

That being said, here are the socks.

Knitting 003

I’m really not feeling this post. It’s because the socks didn’t come out how I wanted and the yarn’s a bear. Don’t get me wrong, it’s soft and easy to knit with, especially with my new Addi turbos. The problem is the colorway. You probably can’t see, but it’s three strands, each a different color; red, green, and blue. Being so dark, it was hard to see the individual stitches to knit, the cable I put in dissappears, and I just don’t think it’s funky like Texas Aunt was wanting. (I didn’t pick out the yarn)

I like the brand and the feel of it, and am looking forward to using it again…just not in this colorway. And, before you ask, it is the same yarn as D’s funky sock. Maybe that’s the reason I don’t like it.

I’m going to make the pattern again in a pair for me using more appropriate yarn. I really think this pattern could be neat looking…at least it is in my head…

 

2 Responses to “FO- Texas Aunt Socks”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Well they look flawless from what I can see! So what if you can’t see the cable. It’s like a secret hug for your aunt.

  2. Dee Says:

    LOVE them! Lucky Texas aunt! I am in Tx too btw. It certainly gets cold enough here to warrant pretty warm hand knit socks…


Leave a Reply

