Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

The Bag Has Been Sacked. January 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:43 pm

(You know, I must say that coming up with titles is one of my favortite things about having the blog.)

You remember back Wednesday when I said that I was making a third felted bag?

Yeah, I changed my mind.

I’ve joined the Odd Ducks Dr Suess swap on Ravelry, and I’ve decided to save that yarn for a little sumpin’ sumpin’ for my swap partner. I’ll tell you more about that when I send my package off in April. Until then, say goodbye to the pretty green wool…

Knitting 008

So, I put the green in the stash bin and looked around to see what project I should start to replace it. And then I panicked.
You see, I keep remembering all the things I want to make. Things for myself, things for the girls, things I’ve promised to people. I make mental notes to myself to try to remember which one’s next, but when the time comes, I blank. Invariably, I end up starting aproject that I shouldn’t start yet and forgetting about a project that I need to get done right away.
So, I did what any good OCD would do…I made a list. Here is the list of the top things I need to make in the next few months. (they’re not in a strict order)

1. Fingerless glove for Ron Done 1/25
2. Handwarmers using leftover Alpaca
3. Hey Teach! for Mom
4. Second Noro sock
5. Sweater for me (pattern yet to be picked out)
6. Ribbed Lace Bolero for Rayanne
7. Transition Gloves and Socks
8. Fuego Socks
9. Leyburn Socks
10. Fix baby sweater (A lady asked me to finish the last project her late mother had worked on. She’d like to be able to keep the finished sweater to remember her mom by)

11. Finish Cinnamon for Morgan

12. Make booties for D

I realize that most of that list is socks. I can’t help myself. But, at least it will lessen my sock stash.
Now, I’ve told myself I can only work on one sock at a time, and, since I’m still making my TOFUtsies socks, I had to pick out a non-sock project. So, I checked my list and decided that Ron deserved his gloves. I cast on last night and have gotten this far.

knitting 002

Now, I know what you are thinking…that glove looks awfully familiar. Well, your right. It’s the same glove in the same yarn that I made for my FIL for Christmas. It’s also the same yarn as I used to for Texas Uncle’s Christmas socks.

knitting 012

I got like 5 skeins of this in a sport weight for a dollar a skein. I think this colorway is perfect for manly things. (I also got accidently got one skein in fingering weight, which would be great for a pair of little boy’s socks. Since I have no little boys, if there’s one of you out there who’d like to work up a trade for a skein that’s a little more girly, let me know)
When I made these gloves the first time, Ron thought they were for him and got really excited. He spends a good amount of time in huge freezers at work and needs gloves. When I told them they were for his dad, he looked so heartbroken that I promised to make a pair for him soon. He’s waited so patiently.
It’s funny, I’ve made things for almost all of my family, but I’ve never made anything for Ron before.
Anyway, he’s very excited to be able to wear these to work on Monday, so it’s a good thing they don’t take long to knit.

I was just looking at my list.  I may need to get a few non sock projects to add to it. Otherwise, I may end up with only socks left. And that could get ugly.

 

4 Responses to “The Bag Has Been Sacked.”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    I’m sure Ron is very excited for them! they’re lookin’ good so far!

  2. Erin Says:

    I don’t have yarn to swap, but I do have a little boy if you feel so inclined! 🙂

    P.S. I just realized that sounds like I have a little boy to swap.

  3. dee Says:

    Goodness…$1.00 a ball??? Too cool. I’d have bought them all.

    Have to post this somewhere someone would appreciate it. We are rearranging rooms. My hubby helped my move what he thought was all of my yarn from one room into another. Unbeknownst to me, while I was at work, he emptied another cabinet with the rest of my yarn. He now thinks I am mentally ill. Seriously. Asking if there is Yarn Buyers Anonymous. What a hoot. It was worth it just to see the look on his face …hehehehe. ok, I am done…..

  4. […] of you may remember back in January, when, in this post, I made out a list of projects I wanted to get […]


Leave a Reply

