Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Children + Housework = No Knitting January 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 12:33 am

I can’t really complain.  Ron was very understanding all of November and December when I did little else but knit.  Now he wants me to get to all the things I neglected back then.  I guess it’s only fair.

But, I don’t want to.

This past week, I’ve been lucky to get in an hour of knitting after the girls have gone to bed.  That’s just enough to whet my appetite.  An hour is not enough.

Anyway, this is what I’ve got going.

My TOFUtsies socks.

knitting 012

As you can see, I’ve finished the first sock, and have turned the heel on the second. I’m hoping to get these finished by Monday. It’ll will be nice to have a full pair of socks for myself. All the other full pairs have gone to others as gifts!

knitting 013

I guess I could have made these a little bit taller. With only the foot left to do, I still have a lot of yarn left. I have been asked to make the oposite pair for my mom. (meaning the toes and heels will be the dark pink, the foot and legs the light) She’s asked, though, that I do them toe up and use all the yarn up in order to make them as tall as possible. My mom doesn’t like short socks.

Next, we have a single glove for Ron:

knitting 011

This only took a few days. (I’d forgotten how much faster sport weight knits up than fingering) I’d planned to have them both done before the end of the weekend, but…Anyway, I’ve got one done and will be starting the other fairly soon. I think I might wait until I get my socks done, though. I don’t think I can face another Wednesday of having to post them as WIPs.

I probably won’t be casting on any new projects this next week, though, even if I get both socks and gloves done. I’ve got three traveling scarves at my house that need some attention. (Luckily, they don’t take too long)
Also, I’ve been asked to finish two sweaters for other knitters. I’ll post more on that when I’ve had the time to sit down and assess what all needs to be done with them.

So, let’s see what the week brings, huh?

By the way, I’m being sued. (Long story, I’m not at fault) Anyway, it’s very nerve wracking everytime I have to go into court, as I had to today. Now knitting would certainly help to ease my nerves, but I’m not allowed to take my needles into the courtroom. I think that’s a little silly. I mean, whne was the last time a judge was attacked by a knitter? Don’t they know we are all calm, grandmotherly types, who would rather bake you cookies than raise our voices? Don’t they know that knitting is the new yoga? Don’t they? PPPTTTTHHHH!!!!!!! Stupid lawyers…stupid security….stupid lawsuit!  Even the judge said today that I wasn’t at fault, but he couldn’t rule that because of technicalities. 

Grrr…

 

One Response to “Children + Housework = No Knitting”

  1. LadyP Says:

    I was able to bring my knitting into the courtroom. However, the bailiff did give me the stink-eye when I was knitting because he thought I wasn’t paying attention. Sorry to hear about being sued. Courtrooms ARE very nerve-wracking.

    I like your blog! Thanks for leaving a comment on mine. It’s always nice to see that people are actually reading what you write, you know?


Leave a Reply

