Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Whipping Up A Friend’s WIP January 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 10:54 pm

I have a friend who started a sweater.

I have a friend who decided she couldn’t finish the sweater.

I have a friend who asked me to finish the sweater for her.

So, I’m working on a sweater.

It’s the Cinnamon sweater by Kim Hargreaves. And it’s being done in Rowan Summer Tweed, but I’m not sure of the color.

There’s been a lot done on it already. She had done the entire back and the both front panels up to the arm hole decreases.

knitting 001

Unfortunately, I think I’m going to have to knit both the front panels over. Not for any error on her part, but becasue I knit looser than her and I think it’s too obvious. Tell me what you think:

knitting 004

Can you tell where hers stops and mine starts? You can, huh. I don’t know why, but I can’t seem to knit this tighter. I think it’s partly because of the yarn, which I hate, and partly because I’ve never been able to purl tightly. Probably why I do socks so much, no purling.

Anyway, I’ve got the sleeves going and I guess I’ll do the two panels after that.

knitting 003

This is the only WIP I’ve got going right now. I’m trying to get it done quickly for her, but I’m looking at sock yarn longingly…

 

4 Responses to “Whipping Up A Friend’s WIP”

  1. Chris Says:

    Will you be my friend too!!!! I have about 5 sweaters in progress. I’ll do the seaming if you do the knitting!

  2. trillian42 Says:

    What if you went down a needle size from what she was using? That would tighten it up.

  3. beverly Says:

    are they all the same friend? cuz if not, your peeps are really sweater challenged.

    thanks for leaving the note on my blog about it being 85 degrees where you are…un huh…i got your ‘jealous of my snow’ right here. don’t worry. it will be 85 degrees here, too, for about six minutes in August.

    so there.

  4. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Have you tried going down a needle size? Do a swatch in a few different sizes until you match up.


Leave a Reply

