Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

On Where I’ve Been… February 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:37 pm

I’m sure you all have been worried sick about me.  I mean, even when I don’t post daily, I at least post my WIPs on Wednesday, right?  Well, yesterday I was a little bit too busy to post.  I’ll get into that more in a little bit.

But first, this weeks WIPs.

knitting 002

Yup, not much. I’m still working on the friend’s sweater, but it doesn’t look much different, so I didn’t take a picture. The sock, if you recall, is the snowdrop pattern that I was working on at the end of last year. I finished the first sock and then stopped to work on other things. Now I’m back at it and looking forward to the finished pair. I’m truly hopeful about these socks because the first one fits so well. I had some trouble getting the bind off loose enough, but had some help and now the sock fits like a glove.

But, you don’t want to hear about socks. You want to know what could have possibly been more important than posting my WIPs on Wednesday, right?

Well, I’ll tell you. This:

Picture

This is the Hemlock Ring Blanket done in Wool of the Andes worsted. Pretty, huh? Guess how long it took me to knit.

54 hours.

Seriously! I knit it up as part of the Knitpicks speed knitting contest that started on Monday. They told us in January that we would need size 10 circs, 900 yards of their wool, and to check in on February 2 to get the pattern, which we knew was a home decor item.

I was exctied to do the project. I love fun contests like this. I figured with 900 yards, it would probably be a blanket. Since I didn’t have the money for the yarn, (although, it was very reasonably priced at less than $2 a 110 yrd skein. The whole blanket cost less than $20) I asked Mom is she would “sponser” me and buy the yarn. In exchange for buying the yarn, I told her she could have the finished product. So we picked out the yarn to match her family room. Since I didn’t know what the pattern was to be, I thought getting two colors would be a good idea. Turns out, one color was best, but I still think it looks good with the two.

Anyway, at 9am they released the patten. I didn’t think I would do well, because I had to clean my parent’s house the day and that would mean losing 3 hours of crucial knitting time. I worked on it as much as I could, though. There were only 31 people in the contest, so I figured I still had good odds. And I had a bit of an advantage over the east coast people. Since the pattern was released at 9am PST, the easters got it at noon their time. Plus, they went to bed before I did, so I actually got a few extra knitting hours that first day. Of course, they got up earlier than I did the next day…
By the end of day 1, I had finished the center star and was on row 22 or so of the Feather and Fan part. I stayed up until 1am to get as much knitting as I could in. I woke up at 7am the next morning and started again.

knitting 001

By the end of day 2, I had finished row 66 of the 70 row F&F pattern. It was 2:30 am and my fingers were raw, my wrists were sore and my brain was mush. But I got up at 7am again the next morning and trudged on.

knitting 004

(I must put in here that I didn’t neglect my husband or children during this knit-a-thon. I still clothed, bathed, and feed all and even played games with teh little ones when my fingers couldn’t take the torture anymore. Just, when there was a free moment, I knitted. I sacrificed my sleep more than my kid’s time)

knitting 005

Finally, by 10 am on day 3, I had knit the last row. Now all I had to do was the bind off. But, by this time, there were 568 stitches on the needles and the bind off was crochet. We all know how clever I am about crochet. (she says sarcasticly) I had to really pay attention to make sure I did it right, and it took FOREVER! I finally finishes that up right after 2pm and then it was off to blocking. I had never blocked a piece of lace before and it took me a while to work it all out. I finally got it, though, and quickly took my picture and posted it.

 

 

And I was first!

 

 

And second came only 9 minutes later. I barely made it!

knitting 001

Want to know what I won? Of course you do! I won one of Knitpicks yarn samplers, which is 4 or 5 balls of yarn and patterns to match. The patterns are simple things like hats, gloves, and headbands. I also won a pattern book of my choice. I chose Continuous Cables, which is a book I’ve been drooling over for since it first came out a few months ago. But the best thing I won is…wait for it…a set of Knitpick Options!!! (OMG!!) I could choose any of their needle sets! Of course I chose the Option wood circular set. Those needles are so pretty and I’ve heard so many good things about them.

I can’t get over it! I can’t believe that I won! I can’t feel my fingers! Needless to say, I did not knit anything else after I finished the blanket. In fact, I’m thinking about taking today off too. My first finger and thumb on my right hand are still sore and swollen from the abuse. And, since the adreneline is gone, I’m exhausted. It’s only 10 am, and I’m already counting down the time to naptime.

But it’s ok, because I won!!! I can’t wait until my prize comes. You know that I would have never been able to afford the needle set, no matter that I wanted them so bad. And it worked out well, because many of the contestants already had at least one of Knitpicks’ sets.

I’ll post pictures when I get my booty, and I”ll post better FO pictures once the blanket is dry.

I’m on cloud 9, I tell you. Sore fingers and all…

 

9 Responses to “On Where I’ve Been…”

  1. trillian42 Says:

    COOL! Congratulations!

    And I really like the way it looks in two colors – I think that was a nifty idea.

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Yay! Congratulations! I love my harmony set. =)

    I really, really like the way it looks with two colors. Very stunning. And it totally looked like a strawberry in that first WiP pic. =)

  3. Lena Says:

    Wow, great writeup and great pics.
    Need some funky bandaids (wonder if they come with a knitting motif…hmm…could be a good seller…)

    Hugs,
    Lena

  4. Dee Says:

    Beautiful! Makes me want to go knit a blanket! But my gosh!..I can’t believe you were able to keep that up for so long. Love the 2 colors.
    Congrats on a well deserved win. Cant wait to see your prizes. I have the Knitpicks harmony dpns and LOVE them. I bought a set of interchangeable circs (not as nice at the knitpicks) last year from a clearance bin at a store called Tuesday morning for like $25. Best knitting purchase ever…

  5. Peggy Stuart Says:

    Cristi: Great blog! I know you will enjoy your booty! Happy knitting and happy mothering! (They grow up so fast!) –Peggy

  6. Dee Says:

    I was so enthralled by the blanket, I didn’t look at the sock wip. IS that Noro sock yarn? I want to knit socks! Making cotton dishcloths right now for m-i-l.

  7. Lola Says:

    Wow! You knitted like a madwoman, but it was worth it! Write about the needles when you get them!

  8. […] enough to set on his sensitive head. And, what did I come across? My prize package from winning the speed knitting contest on Kintpicks back in February. I won one of their yarn samplers, which included 4 skeins of […]

  9. […] Cascade 220 for the black and Knitpicks Swish worsted for the red. (The red was left over from the Hemlock Blanket) Needles: US 5 and US 7 Date Started: October 5, 2009 Date Completed: October 6 2009 Mods: Not […]


Leave a Reply

