Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

<— Insert Clever Title Here February 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:42 pm

My brain’s a bit mushy this morning. It could be because I’m watching the American Idol episode I TIVO’d last night.

But on to the WIPs!!! First, the socks…the never ending socks.

knitting 003

I know that if I could just have a few hours of uninterupted knitting, I could finish these socks. Problem is, I never seem to get that. I keep working on them, doing a row here and there.
I would have the time, but other projects keep pushing their way in. This is where being a selfish knitter would be good for me. Then I would finish my socks first and then work on the other stuff wearing my totally awesome socks. As it is, I keep putting them aside to finish up others.

What others, you might ask? Well, there’s been a baby born in my MOPs group. So I’m putting together a few booties for the baby in totally garish colors, see?

knitting 005

I warned you the colors were garish. Want to know why I chose those colors instead of baby girl pink? It’s simple. I’ve had two baby girls. Both times, when I had my baby showers, I recieved a ridiculous amount of baby girl pink items. I’ve grown to dislike that particular color, especially for baby girls. So, I’ve promised myself that I would do the opposite of baby girl pink in my baby gifts. Unless I’m asked for the pink, of course. I figure I’d put these socks on D, so the other mommy might too.

My other WIP is the sweater that I’m finishing for my friend.

knitting 001

As you can see, I’ve got the sleeves finished, and am working on the last front panel.

knitting 002

I don’t know how well you can see in that picture, but I have a few more inches ands then I will start the armhole and neck shaping. And then I just have to put it all together and do the collar. I’m hoping to get all but the collar done by this weekend. I’ve got a few days left, I should make it.

Some of you might be thinking that I had already done the entire left front panel. You’re right, I did, but my knitting was looser than hers, so I ripped it out. I’m doing the right panel in a size smaller needle and I will do the shaping of both panels together. I’ll be glad when this thing is done. I don’t like the feel of the yarn.

Well, that’s it. Actually, I have one more WIP, but I’m saving that for it’s own post probably tomorrow because I’ve got to tell you a story about it.

 

One Response to “<— Insert Clever Title Here”

  1. Erin Says:

    How come Caleb never got baby booties? 🙂 Those are totally cute. Guess you’ll just have to make some for the next kid.

    I know what you mean about the pink thing. Don’t get me wrong, I love pink, but there is such thing as too much. Whatever happened to purples and teals and such? I hardly ever dress Caleb in all blue. I love putting him in browns and greens. 🙂


Leave a Reply

