Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One… February 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 12:08 am

Let me tell you a story.

It’s a story about what happened to me at the yarn store last  week end.

It’s a story about my most recent WIP

It’s a story of betrayal, political intrigue, love, and, of course, yarn.

So sit back, grab you glass and read my story…

 

My LYS is my favorite place to be.  I go there every Sunday afternoon almost without fail.  The girls go to my folk’s and Ron employs himself elsewhere from the hours of 1-4.  This is my one day a week to knit with grown ups, to knit with people who like to knit and like to talk about knitting, to knit with people who understand the sheer joy I got when I received my new Knitpicks Harmonys.  These are my people.  I love these people.

 

My LYS gives classes, as I’m sure does every other LYS in the country.  I’ve never taken said classes before and I haven’t for very simple reasons.  1) The classes tend to run $25 alone and then you add on the price of the yarn.  I normally do not have these funds, especially since the yarn used is never the yarn on sale.  2)The classes normally are on things that I already know, can figure out myself, or are making things I don’t want to make.  I think the class idea is awesome, and, if it weren’t for the costs, I’d probably take them anyway, even if I already know how, just for the camaraderie.

Well, recently, the owner passed around a pattern for the newest class; a beaded lace scarf.  The scarf in the picture was beautiful, I’ll admit that.  But the yarn and beads were going to run close to $50 and the class was $25.  There was no way I was going to be able to swing that.  So, even though many of my friends were signing up, I put the class out of my mind.  I wouldn’t have worn the scarf anyway.

Cut to a few days later, when I stopped in the the store to say hi.  The owner told me she had something for me and handed me an envelope that had $25 from my “secret pal”.  Apparently, one of the gals had seen my interest in the class and had paid for me.  Wow!  I was really taken aback.  I guess I was gonna take a scarf class. 

I picked out the yarn and beads I wanted them to order (none in stock) and waited for a few weeks for class day.  Now, I need to point out that the pattern is for a beaded scarf, in the picture is a beaded scarf, we were all expecting to make a beaded scarf.  Got that?  Beaded scarf.  K, I’ll move on.

The class was to start at 12:30.  The teacher was coming a ways away, and was concerned about having enough time to do the class and get back home before a storm hit.  She even almost cancelled the day before because of fear of the storm.  In an effort to sooth her, we all beaded our yarn, cast on and did the first three rows.(garter stitch rows)  And then we waited for her arrival.

I should also state that the owner had come up to us and said the that teacher was worried about the beading part of the pattern, since the beads are put on with yarn overs and it can be tricky.  The owner had assured her that all the people taking the class were advanced knitters and wouldn’t have a problem.  She also told her that if someone should have a problem, that the owner would help that person out; therefore removing the responsitbility from the teacher.

As I stated, the class was to start at 12:30, most of us got there at noon, (when the store opened)so that we would be all set and ready to go the minute she walked in the door.  At around 1:15, she finally pulled up.  She came in and didn’t even hardly mention the fact that she was late except to say traffic was worse than she had expected.  This wasn’t an apology, mind you, just a statement of fact.

I’m sorry, but that was strike one in my book.  First off, if I’m going to be 45 minutes late for an appointment, I’m for sure going to be calling on my way and letting the people know that I’m still coming and not dead on the road somewhere.  And, to the argument that it’s illegal to talk on your cell while driving; there are headsets or speaker phone so you could get out a 15 second call.  Heck, I’d even have stopped on the side of the road to make the call if you’re so worried about getting a ticket.  

And then, when I did finally make it to my destination, I would walk in spewing apologies for making everyone wait on me.  But, hey, that’s just me.  I’m considerate that way.

So, she walks in, looks at our beaded yarn and sighs.  Then she proceeds to tell us that she did not come here to teach us the beads, that she came here to teach us how to make a lace scarf and read a chart, how she told Sandra (the owner)this and how Sandra knew that, and how she will NOT be waiting on anyone who drags behind because they can’t figure out how to do the beads.  

When we explained to her that we had all already done chart and lace projects before and that we really didn’t need help with that, she then stated she didn’t know what she was going to teach us then.

That’s when I said that, in that case, she could teach us the beads.  I thought it made sense.  I mean, she has 2 hours to teach a class, we all know how to do everything but the beading, so it figures that she’d spend 2 hours teaching us the beads.  That makes sense, right?

Apparently not.

She let me know, in no uncertain terms, that she would NOT be teaching the beads.  Then she got up and talked to Sandra.

When she came back she said that we could do the beads and she’d help us, but, again, if anyone fell behind, they were SOL.  Sandra came and reiterated that we were all very competent knitters and it shouldn’t be a problem.

So, we got started.  The first row (after garter stitch) was to place the markers.  We did that and then, after knitting 4 on the second row, we were supposed to place 3 beads in a yarn over.  One of the gals asked innocently if we were to put the beads on the front or back of the yarn over.

Bad question.

That got us another 5 minutes of her telling how she didn’t come here to teach beads, and this is why she doesn’t like the beads, and she explained all this to Sandra, and she came all this way………

At this point, two gals got up and left, saying they weren’t paying $25 for a lecture.

So, we stopped asking questions and just worked on it, trying to figure it out ourselves.  After a few minutes, the teacher asked how we were doing.  No one spoke up.  She then asked another gal, Sharon,  if she was placing the beads right.  Sharon let the teacher know that she didn’t know if she was doing it right, because the teacher wasn’t teaching her.  But that she was trying to figure it out.

This is when the teacher got up to talk to Sandra again, and then left.  She said that she was leaving because we didn’t need her help and that the storm was coming and she had a long drive home.  We all think that she didn’t know how to do the beads, or at least didn’t know how to teach the beads.  That’s the only thing that would explain why she would forfiet the $175 she would have gotten from teaching the class.  Not to mention the gas money and the sales she lost on the yarn she had brought.  (No one wanted to buy her stinkin’ yarn by that point)

After she left, we all went back to our scarves.  Sandra helped us out and we helped each other.  After an hour, we were all pretty much going ok on them.  We all had to frog a couple of times, but I managed to finish 1 full reapeat of the 13 row pattern before I left.

I just can’t get over that lady.  How childish, how unproffessional.  She was there representing her yarn company.  (The pattern was their pattern written for their yarn) I mean, really?  What makes her think I want to buy that yarn again?  I can get the same quality yarn from a company that has employees who respect me a treat me like an adult. 

It was one of those times when you can’t believe what is happening is happening in real life.

Oh, and in case you wondered.  I found out who had donated the cash so I could take the class.  I wanted to return it since I didn’t use it.  She refused to take it and said to put it toward the yarn.  So, that’s what I did.

 

3 Responses to “Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One…”

  1. Chris Says:

    How rude! I can’t believe it. I wonder just what was going on in that person’s life though. Having taught knitting for 6 years, I can’t imagine treating students that way. I guess it takes all kinds.

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Holy Crap, really? And why, pray tell, are you being so kind as to not name names in the case of the yarn company? You’re being far too kind considering the way that woman treated the class and represented the yarn company. That’s crap. Absolute crap.

  3. […] this is the infamous scarf. I finished it a few days few days ago. Isn’t it […]


Leave a Reply

