Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Snowdrop Socks February 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:33 pm

Well, I did it. I finally finished the never ending socks. I am triumphant.

I guess they really weren’t never ending.  In all honesty, they only took 2 months. But, two months for a pair of socks seems like forever.

Here they are.

knitting 002

(Please excuse the lone Cheerio on the table)

Cute, huh? With the exception of the black, I love the colors of this yarn. (I’m not partial to black) I enjoyed knitting with the yarn too. Noro, while it feels really rough on the skein, feels good knit up. They’re still not soft, but I haven’t washed them yet. I’ve been told that a washing will soften the yarn up quite a bit. But, even if they don’t get any softer, I really like the way the yarn knit up.

knitting 003

I knit these exactly as the pattern called. I did that because I want to experience all different toes and heels so I can accurately pick my favorite. Keeping that in mind, I have come to this conclusion, I dislike the heel on this sock. It’s a short row, but it uses a wrap and turn and I rather like the k2tog version better. But, I really like the toe and I think that it has become my go to toe up technique for my non-pattern socks. It uses the Turkish Method and I love it, very simple and easy to remember.

Another thing that I learned is that I don’t particularly care for socks that have a lace pattern that goes all the way down the foot. I think that in the future I will just keep my feet in stockinette…at least when making socks for myself. I like the way stockinette looks better, and I love the way it feels. This way I can be sure to get my socks as tight in the foot as I want. I hate loose socks.

knitting 004

(Ah, a baby hand…the reason for the lone Cheerio)

All in all, I’m happy with the socks. They fit the best of the ones I’ve made for myself and they are pretty. Also, I can be proud to show of the pretty lace pattern.

Project: Snowdrop Socks by Sara Morris
Yarn:Noro Kureyon Sock Color S92
Needles: Addi Turbos (LOVE them) size 2 magic loop
Date Started: December 19, 2008
Date Completed: February 20, 2009
Mods: None

 

***Abrupt Change of Subject***

I wanted to give you guys an update on the story about the beaded scarf class teacher.  Apparently, she called the store the next day to apologize.  She also asked Sandra to give her all of our phone numbers so that she could apologize personally.  Thankfully, Sandra did not give her our numbers.  And, apparently, the apology she gave was very similar to the one she gave for being late.  She basically said that if Sandra hadn’t gotten the idea wrong and had understood that the teacher was coming to teach beginning lace only, then there wouldn’t have been a problem. 

Man, some people just don’t get it.

Also, I’m 7 repeats into the 19 repeat pattern so far.  And, guess what?  I’ve found 3 knots already!  I’m sorry, but if I’m going to spend $32 on a single skein of yarn, I would expect to find pristine yarn.  Maybe that’s just me.

So far, not all that impressed with this yarn company.  I do like the pattern, though.

 

2 Responses to “FO: Snowdrop Socks”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    She’s an idiot. You’ve spent all the time listening to her you need to. kudos to your LYS owner for not giving away your phone numbers.

    The socks look great! I’m not a fan of pattern going all the way to the toe, not that far into the toe anyway. Just after I’m done my repeats. Maybe that would feel better to your foot? I dunno. But they look great!

  2. Chris Says:

    Love the socks, sorry about the experience. Wouldn’t happen to want to let us in on the “who”?


Leave a Reply

