Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Grrr, And Thanks March 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:37 pm

Let’s start with the thanks, shall we?

I wanted to thank all of you who have offered your prayers and well wishes to me and Ron as we try to find a new place for him to work. Some of you have even offered me yarn and, I tell ya, God’s got a special place in heaven for you guys!

Here’s an update on Ron’s job. They were supposed to let him know about the incentives to stay and not quit. Apparently, they are having a hard time figuring out what those incentives should be. They’ve also asked every to sign an affidavit saying the we won’t sue for wrongful termination and the like. You have to sign the thing in order to get the severance package. Ron thinks they are going to try to get people to quit or come up with phony problems and fire them so that they don’t have to pay the severance. With what this company has done so far, I wouldn’t be surprised.

Thankfully, Ron’s gotten a lot of on the job training in all different areas since they started laying off people. He think he might be able to take advantage of that training and get a job with another aerospace company and maybe even make more money. I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but that would really help us out. He goes to the Long Beach Grand Prix every year (he volunteers to work it, so he gets in for free!) and there are several guys who do to that are with some of the bigger companies. He thinks that he might have and “in” with them. Let’s hope he’s right, huh? It would be nice to be able to not have to worry about where the mortgage payment is coming from.

*On To The GRRR…*

I have finished three projects int he last week and a half. That’s not the Grr, that’s a little bit of Yay! The Grr is that I can’t show you any of them!

One is a gift for my March Traveling Scarf Group Secret Swap Reveal package, so that has to wait until I actually sent out and she receives the package.

The other two are not surprises. They are just things I’ve made and given without getting proper pictures! I made a 5 hours baby sweater, but didn’t have my camera on me, so I took a picture with my mom’s camera. One day she’ll remember to email me the picture….maybe. The second I just finished yesterday. It’s the helmet liner that I was comissioned to make. Well, being the dunderhead that I am, I dropped it off at the shop yesterday with out taking one single picture! Blasted!

So, you’ll have to trust me that they look good and that I am actually knitting and not just playing on the computer. I am, of course, also still working on the scarf and socks that were in the WIP post last week. As much as I would like to be able to say that I’ll get them done in time, I’m pretty sure they’ll be in this week’s WIP post too. I need to get crackin’ on them, though, ’cause I’ma itchin’ to get started on another pair of socks for me!

I hate to do a post without at least one picture, though, so I’ll leave you with this:

knitting

This is my backyard. We’ve had a lot of rain lately, so it’s grown it’s own mini forest. I guess we need to mow a little bit….

 

2 Responses to “Grrr, And Thanks”

  1. beverly Says:

    first, i hope ron’s job search leads him to bigger and better things: a girl’s gotta have her knitting jones satisfied…and of course the mortgage payment is pretty important. i am now so grateful we took the fifteen year mortgage and the house has been paid off for about ten years. you are in my prayers that you come through to the other side with a better sense of security.

    i think your mini forest actually looks pretty good.

    i believe you when you say your projects look good. i am sure they do – and i look forward to the pics whenever they come. would you believe i have a friend who still uses film? i get pictures from here six months after they’ve been taken cuz it takes her that long to get through a roll!

  2. puggerhugger Says:

    sooooooooo pretty! Can I come knit under the tree?


Leave a Reply

