Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Heather Undulating Wave Scarf March 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:48 pm

Contrary to what you might think, I am not dead, I have not been abducted by aliens, and I do not have the bubonic plague. What I do have, however, is three extra 1 year olds running around wreaking havoc in my house. If you’ve ever had four 1 year olds together for any length of time in one room, then you’ll understand why I haven’t been able to blog…or nap…or do housework… Well, I might be able to do housework, but don’t tell that to my husband. Why, you ask, do I all of a sudden have so many small people around? Well, I wanted to see the world from Octomom’s point of view, but could only get halfway there. ;o) No, really, I am trying to bring in a little extra cash by watching some friend’s kids. It’s a whole lot more work than just watching my kids, let me tell you. I have been knitting, though, even if I haven’t been able to do much in the blog world. See what I completed? knitting 003 Yup, this is the infamous scarf. I finished it a few days few days ago. Isn’t it pretty? knitting 008 Although the pattern said to put the beads on all the way through, I decided to nix the beads on the middle. I thought it would make it awful heavy and may pull her hair, so I did 6 repeats on either side with beads and 7 in the middle without. knitting 006 The pattern originally called for 19 repeats. I did the 19, but wish I had done a few more. I don’t think the scarf is quite long enough. I mean, it’s fine if you just hang it down from your neck, but you can’t really wrap it around at all. I guess for just a fashion scarf that’s ok. I don’t have any pictures of it being worn because I don’t have my own proffesional photographer like some people. ;o) knitting 017 I’m really happy with the way it turned out, though. It’s one of those things I can be really proud of making. They’re even gonna put it up in the shop for display for a few weeks. It’s a gift for a friend, so I guess I’ll be waiting a little bit longer before I give it to her. Since she doesn’t know it’s coming, I don’t think a few more weeks will matter much. knitting 010 Pattern: Heather Undulating Waves Scarf by Laura Nelkin Yarn: Schaefer Yarn in Heather weight and Indira Ghandi colorway Needles: My Knitpicks Harmonys in size US 6 (LOVIN’ THEM!!!) Date Started: February 15, 2009 Date Completed: March 21, 2009 Mods: As stated above, I skipped the beads in the middle 7 pattern repeats. All in all a very satisfying knit. And, since I dislike knitting scarves, that’s saying a lot. Plus, I have a great story to tell my grandchildren about my first LYS class! I think my only frustration was, since you bead the yarn before you knit, I had to spend 5 minutes every half repeat pushing the beads down the yarn. It was a bit of a bother. Oh well, it was worth it for this: knitting 019

 

2 Responses to “FO: Heather Undulating Wave Scarf”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    SO PRETTY! I love the beads and love that you left them out of the middle. I know my hair would get caught in them so I’m sure your friend will appreciate it.

  2. Laura Nelkin Says:

    It came out beautifully, I know ALOT of knitter who have left out the beads in the middle… one reason is that they can be cold on your neck if you aren’t wearing a turtleneck!

    I only did 19 repeats because the scarf GROWS over time with the weight of the beads, this might happen less to yours since you skipped a section.

    You have a lucky friend!
    Laura


Leave a Reply

