Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Taffy Socks March 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:38 pm

In December, we got a knock at the door and were surprised to see one of the couples from church carrying a rather large basket standing on our doorstep.  Apparently, their family had decided that, instead of buying each other gifts, they would do a charitable action in each other’s names.

Since last year was such a rough one for Ron and I, Jerry and Linda decided that making sure we had a nice Christmas would be their charitable action.  Ron and I were floored, let me tell you.

Jerry and Linda showed up with a ham and all the fixin’s for a nice Christmas Eve dinner, gifts for the girls all wrapped up pretty, and several gift cards.  Some of the gift cards were for important needed things like the one from Target, and some of the gift cards were just for fun, like the move tickets and the one from Starbucks.  And, to top it all of, they inclosed $100 bill that we were able to use to pay our vehicle registration.

(You see, this is how I know God takes care of us.  I didn’t know where I was gonna find the money to pay for our tags.  I was rather worried about it, actually, and then He provided)

Anyway, I immediately wanted to make something to show our gratitude for their amazing generosity.  It took me a little while to find what would be perfect for them, but I finally did.  For Linda, the Undulating Waves Scarf I showed you yesterday.  She’s a very classy lady and deserves a classy scarf.  For Jerry, who’s a little bit silly and yet still a business man…socks.  I went ahead and asked him first if he would even wear them and he seemed really keen on the idea.  So here they are, being modeled by Ron:

knitting 025

I really like the marbling effect that the yarn has. It looks a lot better knit up than it did in the skein. If fact, I didn’t think I’d like it at all when I first saw the yarn. But, I’m pleasently surprised. I have some more of this yarn in purple that I’m now looking forward to knitting up.

knitting 022

The yarn is Patons Stretch Sock in Taffy and it came from Michaels. Now, you all know that I want to be an uber yarn snob, especially when it comes to sock yarn, but my finances don’t always always allow for that. This stuff wasn’t too bad at about $5 a skein. I don’t know how well it’ll hold up when worn, but it was pretty ok to knit up.
The sock pattern is just a straight vanilla toe up. The only special that I did was to knit them both together. I knew that if I did them one at a time, I’d never finish the second one. As it was, they seemed to take forever. I need to remember to make gift socks only for people with freakishly small feet.

knitting 021
(T had to model her feet too)

Pattern: Basic toe up stockinette socks
Yarn: Patons Stretchy Sock in Taffy
Needles: Addi Turbos size US2
Date Started: February 25, 2009
Date Completed: March 19, 2009
Notes: I couldn’t find the center pull in either of these skeins. That was frustration number one. I knew that if I just knit them form the original wind, I would have a mess of yarn from them rolling all over each other and getting tangled. I looked online and got a tutorial on how to wind your own center pull by using your thumb. I wound and cast on and got about 2 inches into it when one of the center pulls got a knot and the yarn broke while I tried to get the knot out so I could see it to untangle it. So I rewound it and, just a few rows later, had the same problem. Only, this time I stopped pulling on it before the yarn broke. I then rolled the yarn up into regular balls and knit up the rest of the socks that way. This was a little bit dificult since the yarn was still connected to the socks. But it worked. I just know now to avoid winding my own center pulls. It’s just more proof that I need a ball winder.

knitting 023

 

One Response to “FO: Taffy Socks”

  1. kjwinston Says:

    Hey, Dodo, now you have four readers! I saw a comment you left on a knitting blogger’s site, and since I have just started my own blog about crafting and may actually have fewer readers than you, I thought I’d pay you a visit. You are a lovely writer and I was very pleased to come and see such a beautiful entry about generosity, belief and love. Happy knitting to you.


Leave a Reply

