Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

It Is Wednesday, Right? April 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:44 pm

Both my parents and my husband deserted me this weekend to go off and have fun.

Doodieheads.

Ron went to the Long Beach Grand Prix, as is his yearly guy trip.  He and a bunch of friends go and volunteer to work the race, so they get in for free and have gobs of fun.  Normally, this is a little vacation for me too, since I spend the weekend at my parents house, and we have all kind of fun.  I stay there because I’m a chicken and cannot sleep when Ron’s not home.

Yes, I reallize that I’m almost 32 and should act like a grown up, but ppptthhh!!! to you.  How’s that for acting like a grown up?

Seriously, I think it is mostly because of my hearing.  I have a pretty signifigant hearing loss and I’m afraid I’m not going to hear things like a bad guy coming inside, or the fire alarm in the middle of the night.

But I digress. 

As I said, I normally spend a fun filled weekend with the folks and all is grand.  Well, my parents decided that not only were they going to have their anniversary on the same weekend as the race, but they were also going to go away and celebrate it.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, 35 years only comes around once…blah, blah.

I’m am joking, you know, I’m fiercely proud of the fact my parents have been together for so long and still like each other, and I”m glad that they and Ron had fun.  It did, though, mess up my weekend.  I ended up still staying at my paren’ts house in an effort to chaparone my brother and his fiance. ( My mom believes that if I’m there, they won’t do anything they’re not supposed to.  Uh huh, right.)

Because I was essentially alone for the weekend, aformentioned brother and fiance spent all weekend at work or holed up in their rooms, that meant I got no break from the girls.  That meant that I didn’t get to go to my LYS at all, as is my custom.  It also meant that I got little or no sleep, did almost no knitting, and never went potty or took a shower alone.  I don’t know how single parents do it.

So, it’s taken me a few days to get back into the swing of real life.  But I do have WIPs for you today.  And one of them is even new and pretty!

First off, the shop sample.  I was able to cast off the sleeves Sunday at church.(I have permission from my pastor to knit during service)  This was pretty much the only knitting I did over the weekend.  I have also cast on the back and have about an inch done on it.

knitting 008

The mixture of small yarn done on small needles and the fact that the body is way longer than an average sweater is what is making this take so long. Oh, that and a bunch of it is boring stockinette. If I was making this for myself, I would have put it away for a while by now. But, it’s not for me and so I keep truckin’ on it, slowly but surely.

My new pretty knit is these socks:

knitting 012

Loverly, huh? WhenI first started knitting socks, I pormised my mom I would knit a pair for her. She picked out the pattern, Spring Forward, and the yarn, some Clown yarn in blues. I was supposed to make them last Fall. I even had them up on my Ravelry projects page. I called them Spring in the Fall.

But, then I had to make Chistmas gifts, and Mom’s socks got set aside.

Well, the LYS had a recent sale on Lorna’s Laces and they had this uber cute Springy colorway that I just couldn’t resist, Happy Valley. My mom loves colors and pastels are her favorites. So, this yarn was just calling to me to be socks for her.

I pulled the Ravelry project out of the attic,changed the yarn info and cast on. Although, I guess I should probably change the name from Spring in the Fall to Spring in the, uh, Spring.

One more look before I say adieu:

knitting 014

So pretty!

 

3 Responses to “It Is Wednesday, Right?”

  1. trillian42 Says:

    I thought I recognized that colorway! I have socks in “Happy Valley”!

  2. Erin Says:

    Ahem. One person did not desert you. Just sayin’. 🙂

  3. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Spring Forward was such a fun knit! I need to do another pair this year.


Leave a Reply

