Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I’ve Got So Many WIPs, I Need New Needles! May 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:12 pm

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

The title of this post isn’t really an exaggeration. I’m knitting both Uncle’s and Mom’s socks on size 1’s. Well, I only have one set of 1’s, so I’m having to take turns. I hate that. I need to take some of my birthday money and get another set of 1’s from Knitpicks. I’m very, very impressed with their needles. The tips are fabulous, the joins are flawless, and the price can’t be beat.

But, I’m not here to talk about needles, let’s get to the WIPs, shall we?

First, I’ve finished Uncle’s first sock, and have made some progress on the second.

knitting 006

I thought that since Uncle’s birthday had passed, I should get straight to work on the second. However, I realized that this Sunday is Mother’s day, so I’ll be taking a break from Uncle’s socks and casting on for Mom’s second one. I finished the first, see?

knitting 007

I’m hoping to get the second one done before I see Mom at church on Sunday. There is only one thing that might keep me from that. And that would be the slippers I’m making for the MIL. My mom would be a lot more understanding if I have to give her 1.5 socks on Mother’s Day than my MIL would be.

Thankfully, that slippers I’m making are really quick knits. In fact, I’m close to the end.

knitting 004

As you can see, I’ve got both soles and was able to knit the top of one yesterday. I’m hoping to get the top of the second done today and then sew them together. I’m hoping they fit. I don’t actually know what size shoe my MIL wears, but it doesn’t look like her feet are very big. Well, if they don’t fit, then I can always give them to Mom and make my MIL another pair. My LYS has the Mission Falls yarn I’m using and it’s cheap right now.

Speaking of my LYS, their sale is up to 30%, so I’ve bee taking great advantave of it. Ron told me he didn’t know what to get me for my birthday, so I told him I’d take care of it. I went ahead and bought enough cotton to make myself a Tomato. I’m really looking forward to making it. I actually haven’t made myself much in the way of tops, just that bolero a few months ago. I have the cotton to make that Tomato and also a bunch of Tahki cotton that I want to use to make a top too. Making cotton tops is perfect right now that the weather is warming up. Now, if I can only find a pattern for the Tahki…

Oh, I almost forgot! I have one more WIP! I used the left over Lorna’s from that first skein I used for Mom’s sock and made a little sock for T.

knitting 009

It took me only the evening to make and fits well, she even has a bit of room to grow. And T loved it! She wanted to wear it to bed that night, but I talked her into waiting until I got the second one made.

So, that’s it. Enjoy your Wednesday!

 

2 Responses to “I’ve Got So Many WIPs, I Need New Needles!”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Your projects look great, and I’m glad to know I’m not the only one that buys new needles because the others are occupied. I like the look of the mothers day house shoes, let us know how she likes them!
    Vicki

  2. puggerhugger Says:

    I love Mom’s socks colors! Is that Spring forward pattern?


Leave a Reply

