Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Mother’s Day Slippers May 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:10 pm

I hope everyone had a happy Mother’s Day yesterday. Mine was fairly nice. The only thing that didn’t work out is that when I went down to my LYS for a few child-free knitting hours, I found it to be closed for the day. I was bummed, but came home and took a nap instead. It all worked out in the end.

So, I realize that it’s been over a month since I finished a project, but I finally have one done to show you guys! Sorry for the bad cell phone pictures.

downsized_0510092210[1] (2)

My birthday swap partner from Ravelry sent me the pattern and the Mission Falls 1824 cotton to make these slippers. The pattern’s been in my queue for at least 6 months with the plans that I would make them for Mom. Well, I got the stuff just in time for a quick Mother’s Day gift. (I know in an earlier post I said they were going to my MIL, but we gave her a lovely plant instead. I don’t think they would have fit)

downsized_0510092210a[1] (2)

Pattern: Mother’s Day Cotton Slippers by Caroline Dlugy-Hegwer
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 cotton
Needles: US size 6
Date Started: May 4, 2009
Date Completed: May 7, 2009
Mods: None, I followed the pattern exactly

Mom likes the slippers a lot. The only thing she complained about was that they were a tad uncomfortable to walk in. Their house is mostly tile, so she felt every stitch. To combat that, she put a little liner pad in the bottom and the problem was solved. These were easy and quick to make. You could definately do them in a weekend. I just wish there was an in-the-round pattern because the sewing…well, you all know how much I love sewing. That’s probably why I like knitting socks so much.

Speaking of socks, I’ve decided to follow Cookie’s example and host my onw sock of the month club. Each month I will pull out some of my stashed sock yarn and one of my patterns I already have or are free on Ravelry, and I will knit myself a pair of socks. It’s a perfect way to enjoy sock knitting, save some money, and do a little stash busting.

So, without further ado, here is the yarn I will be knitting for my May socks.

knitting

It’s Lorna’s Laces in the Uptown colorway. My LYS only had the one skein in this color, so I will be making short tennis socks, but, seeing as I only have half the month left, that’s probably a good thing. I’m going to use the Spring Forward pattern that I’m using for Mom’s Mother’s Day socks. The dye job is similar in this skein as in the skeins I used for Mom, as far as the length of each color, and I really like how hers worked with the pattern. Plus, I now have this pattern totally memorized, so it will make for quick knitting.

On a side note, I have come the the realization that I need another yarn storing tub. The two large ones and two small ones I have were working fine until my LYS started selling off yarn at cutthroat prices right around my birthday. Several family members gave me yarn money for my birthday, so I’ve been like a kid in a candy store. Or, rather, like a knitter in a yarn store. :o)

Anyway, I’m overflowing and need to rectify the situation soon before the baby gets swallowed up by yarn!

 

Leave a Reply

