Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Guitar Man Socks May 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 8:20 pm

Well, I was a week and a half late, but I finally managed to finish Uncle’s birthday socks.

knitting 002

I really enjoyed making this pattern. I think that having a pattern repeat that I only have to repeat a few times in the sock tricks my brain to thinking the thing’s going faster. The way this pattern worked, each diamond shape was an inch long.  That was one pattern repeat. So I was able to tell myself that I only had to do the pattern four more times and then I could start the toe. To my brain, that sounded a lot better than I had four more inches left. The last pair of men’s socks I made were plain vanilla socks andthey seemed to go on forever. These went really fast, I felt.

Of course, it could have something to do with the fact that the last pair I made were for a 10.5 size foot. Uncle has small feet for a man and only wears an 8. But we’ll blame the quickness on the pattern. It’s my blog and that makes me happy. *L*

knitting 003

Uncle seems to really like them too, which is good. He’s not afraid of bold colors and often wears bright shirts. he also loves to match his socks to his shirts, so I’m thinking of getting a good red or yellow or maybe even green mix to make some Christmas socks for him. He deserves better yarn, though. This pair was Red Heart and you could tell. *yuck*

And, not only does Red Heart not feel as nice as quality yarn, there wasn’t enough of it for a full man’s sock. Uncle has small feet, remember, and I had only a little ball left after substituting some Cascade Heritage for the toes and heels. I figure I had enough left to do a heel…maybe. But if I had been making socks for Ron, who wears a 10.5, or my other uncle in Texas, who waers a 12, there’s no way I would have had enough yarn. I don’t think it’s too much to ask for to get a full sock out of one skein, do you?

knitting 001

Pattern: Guitar Man socks from the 2009 Knitting Pattern A Day callendar
Yarn: Red Heart Heart and Soul with aloe in the Toasted Almond colorway and Cascade Heritage in navy for the toe and heel
Needles: Size US 1 magic loop
Date Started: April 28, 2009
Date Finished: May 11, 2009
Mods: Well, other than changing up the yarn for the toe and heel, I pretty much followed the pattern.

 

3 Responses to “FO: Guitar Man Socks”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    I swear socks with a pattern repeat go a lot faster than plain socks. Seriously. Try the embossed leaves socks sometime. They fly!

    The Guitar Man socks look great. Love the pattern on the yarn. Fun!

  2. homeofhearts Says:

    Great Job!! They look great!! I just finished the gusset on my first sock!! One day I hope to be able to incorporate patterns.

  3. puggerhugger Says:

    thanks for the recommendation, I cast on for these toda, linked ya also. xox


Leave a Reply

