Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

I’m Weak… May 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 4:00 pm

I’m sorry.

knitting 007

I blame it on Ron.

No, really, this works, hear me out.

You see, I fought the urge to work on that toe all blasted day. And it was a fight, let me tell you. That thing called me name incessantly. But I fought it.

I started the sock monkey that I was supposed to start two weeks ago and I worked on Mom’s sock. I got as far as to finish the heel flap on Mom’s sock.

But, then, after I’d put the girls to bed, and the house was quiet, and I was alone…Well…

Here’s how it worked. It was about 15 minutes before Ron was supposed to get home. I needed something that would take up that time, but not over. I couldn’t work on Mom’s sock, because I had finished the heel flap already and the heel would take longer than 15 minutes. I couldn’t work on the sock monkey because that was all the way in the front room. So, I had to work on my sock.

You see how that was the perfect solution, right?

Yeah, it was perfect, I could just work on it until Ron got home and then put it down again. That way I wouldn’t finish the sock or anything, I would just be filling up a few minutes of spair time. And it was the perfect plan, except for one thing.

Ron was late.

And when he did finally get home, he wanted to read for a bit.

Next thing I knew, I was ready to kitchner.

Well, when I realized what I’d done, I immediately put the sock away. I haven’t kitchnered it. I’m going to save that for if I actually do have to substitute yarn for the toes. It’s much easier to tink when it’s still on the needles than it is with the ends weaved.

knitting 002

I wonder if I might ask the sock experts in the reading audience a question. I had said that I had gotten a pair of tennis socks out of one skein of Cascade Sassy Stripes. That has 218 yards to it. Lornas has 225. So, I thought that I had plenty of yarn because I still had a small ball left over from the Cascade.

But then I realized that I did the Cascade socks on 2’s and am doing this sock on 1’s. Do you think that will make much of a difference? You think I’ll run out?

 

2 Responses to “I’m Weak…”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    I think it is a definite possibility, yes.

  2. puggerhugger Says:

    dont know if you’ll run out, Im too busy going “oooh ahhh” at the pretty pretty sock!!!


Leave a Reply

