Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Asparagus, I Dominate Thee… May 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:36 pm

(Picture heavy post)

I’m a happy Cristi, see?

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 016 (2)

Wanna know why I’m so happy? Well, it’s because of my BFF Erin and her husband Rodney and this place:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 009 (2)

We fonduded it! Er, um, fondoned it? Hmmm…

Anyway, Rodney won a rather generous gift card at work, so Erin and he were kind enough to take Ron and me out to a most fabulous dinner for our birthday. I took lots of pictures, so, be prepared to get hungry…

First, the cheese course:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 011 (2)Melting Pot with Ebersoles 010 (2)

There were 5 or 6 different cheese fondues to choose from. It was a difficult decision, but I think we chose the right one. Then came the salads. This was mine, the California salad. Baby greens, walnuts, gorgonzola cheese, roma tomatoes, drizzled with a raspberry vinagrette. Yum!

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 012 (2)

And pretty too! (It didn’t stay pretty for very long, though)

Next was the main course, the meats. I had originally taken pictures of the meat plate, but Erin brought up a good point that a picture of raw meat isn’t all that pretty. So, here’s a picture of our meat cooking with some veges in the Mojo broth:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 014 (2)

I can tell you what was on the plate, though. It included chicken, filet minon, top sirloin, shrimp, and pork. All of the meats were marinated special and delicious! They also gave us dipping sauces, but I didn’t need them. The flavors from just the meat and the mojo fondue were enough.

What we did was put the meat in the broth for two minutes and it cooked up perfectly! While we waited for our meat to cook, we took pictures of us:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 019 (2)

Of our dinner companions, Erin and Rodney:

Melting%20Pot%20with%20Ebersoles%20018[1] (2)

And of our waitress, Erica:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 013 (2)

She was fabulous! Lot’s of fun, and she even complimented me on my socks I was knitting. (I had to fight the urge to tell her it was easy to knit them. Why is it that knitters feel the need to lighten the wonder that is our craft. It’s takes a lot of practice to be as good as we are and we should tell people, “Hell, yeah, it’s hard! But it’s worth it.”, when they ask.)

I digress…

After the meat course came the best course of all. You guessed it, chocolate!!!!!

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 023 (2)

(The only real reason for fondue, right?)

And to dip in it:

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 024 (2)

And, yes, it tasted as good as it looks…

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 025 (2)

(Couldn’t you just die?)

Ron got the last of the chocolate after we ran out of things to dip in it.

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 028 (2)

And, the aftermath…

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 027 (2)

It was the most fun I’ve ever had in a restaurant! A perfect birthday gift from a wonderful friend. Thanks so much, Erin and Rodney!

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 032 (2)

Oh, and for those of you who were wondering, yes, there was knitting…

Melting Pot with Ebersoles 030 (2)

 

2 Responses to “Asparagus, I Dominate Thee…”

  1. Erin Says:

    You are more than welcome! When we all become independently wealthy, we can go every month, right?

    It was a fantastic evening!

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Ha! I spy Spring Forward #2! hee!

    I love the Melting Pot. It’s been forever since I’ve been but it is such a great experience. I’m envious of that pot of chocolate.


Leave a Reply

