Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Closeknit Is Closed. *Sigh* May 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:21 pm

Well, it’s over, the yarn store is no more.  As of 4:00 pm on Sunday May 24, Closeknit ceased to be.  I’m sad.

But, I took the oportunity to spend as much time there as I could this weekend.  I was there on Saturday for about an hour and then there for the entire business day on Sunday.  I’d like to show you all what I was working on during that time, but it’s a birthday present for a little man who’s about to turn one year old.  While I realizes that he probably doesn’t read this blog, his mom does.  So you just get a little tease:

knitting 001

I’m really happy with the way it’s turning out. And I’m loving the yarn. It’s Heirloon Cashmeno that I got a few weeks ago. There were 10 or so balls in the two blue colors and I thought I might be able to use it for a top for me, but there just wasn’t enough. When I was trying to figure out what to make for young master Caleb, I saw this yarn in my tub and thought it would be perfect! Very soft and well made. And a pretty blue that’s not too blue, you know? Manly, but not boring. I think it’s perfect for a little boy.

On Sunday, the yarn at the store was 75% off, so I was able to afford enough Tahki cotton to make Ron a polo shirt. I’ve wanted to get some to make him something for a while, but never had enough money. I believe I ended up spending about $20 to get all the yarn and pattern, which is close to what we’d end up spending if we bought a shirt in the store. Love that! But, I’ve got to finish Caleb’s thing first. Oh, and I cast on for my Tomato last night…and I’ve got to pick out my June socks for my personal sock club….and Summer Of Socks starts in a few weeks…and my future SIL’s birthday is next month…

I’m never gonna catch up.

 

One Response to “Closeknit Is Closed. *Sigh*”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    It’s a never ending list of things to knit. Just take ’em on one at a time.


Leave a Reply

