Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Sock For My Eldest Girl June 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:05 pm

I think I’m just going to have to stop apologizing for my week long dissapearances. Just know that if I’m gone for more than a few days, one of my kids is sick or something. :o)

So, I’ve finished T’s socks. I guess she likes them.  She didn’t take them off for more than a minute in three days. In fact, I had to sneak them away so that I can wash them. She’s in love with them, I tell you, which makes me feel good….but it’s ruining the socks. I know now not to pay too much for sock yarn for her. She’s just too hard on socks. But, she loves socks so much, I’m going to have to make her dozens of pairs.

Thankfully, I have a gazillion partial skeins that have been donated to my sock yarn blanket. Many of them are almost full skeins, plenty to make a few squares and socks for T. And, I won’t have to feel bad about her ruining them because I didn’t spend any money on the yarn.

It’s still a bit of a sting, though, to see her mess up something I worked hours on. But, I know it’s love,so that makes up for it.

Without futher ado, here they are.

knitting 025

You must excuse the the fuzzyness of these pictures, it’s very hard for a four year old to hold still, you know. But she did have fun posing for the pictures…

knitting 026

knitting 023

knitting 027

Project: Opal Kid’s Socks by Sharon “Soxie” Philbrick
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces in Happy Valley
Needles: Size US 1 ML
Date Started: May 1, 2009
Date Completed: May 29, 2009

I don’t think I’ll make this pattern again. I was dead easy, don’t get me wrong, but it makes the socks too stretchy and they’re a bit of an ill fit for T’s skinny feet. I think that next time, I’ll stick to stockinette.

 

(While I was spell checking this post, T came up and saw the pictures and immediately asked where the “sock you knit for me” were.  It’s a good thing they’re already in the washer, huh?)

 

2 Responses to “FO: Sock For My Eldest Girl”

  1. Cookie Says:

    Cute!

    That girl needs more socks. Quick!

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Cute socks! And she does such a great job at modeling them. =)


Leave a Reply

