Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

Because I’m A Lemming… June 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:36 pm

There have been a few of my fellow bloggers who have been showing off their ink. Don’t believe me? Well, go check out Pam and Carole’s blogs.

Well, it got me thinking maybe I could get away with a post showing off my work. I know that you’ve caught glimpses when I’ve modeled a sock, but maybe you might enjoy the full catalog.
(If you don’t like tattoos, feel free to skip this post. I promise it won’t have any knitting in it and I won’t feel hurt if you don’t read. I understand.) If you do like tattoos and are planning to read on, let me warn you that this is a pretty picture heavy post. I have 14 tattoos, so…

On with the show!

I figured I’d do things chronologically. So here is my very first tattoo, which I got shortly after my 20th birthday way back in 1997. I got the cross on my ankle in an effort to somewhat appease my folks. They weren’t too keen on the whole tattoo idea, and I thought a cross might help them deal. I doubt it worked. ;o)

knitting

Secondly, we have the Celtic knot on my upper right arm. This is a perfect example of how you need to stick with your original plan, and not change your mind in the artist’s chair. I originally wanted a little quarter sized design right at the very top of my arm, almost on my shoulder. But, when I got into the chair, he told me all the sizes he’d copied were the same price. So I went twice as big and lower. While I like the work, I’ve always thought it was a little too sailor-y and not quite feminine. I still haven’t come up with a solution to the dilema, and I’ve had the tattoo since 97.

knitting 021

Number 3 was also done while I lived in Alaska, like number 2. I made the mistake of showing it to my parents the night I came home and my mom didn’t talk to me for about a week. While we worked it all out, she still hates this tattoo and I plan to have it covered up when I can afford it. Just as a courtesy to her. This is on the inside of my left ankle.

knitting 014

After that, I got the worst tattoo ever. Well, the tattoo wouldn’t be bad, but the artist was terrible. It’s on the small of my back and is supposed to be the chinese symbol for monkey. However, it’s basically a black blob. The artist dug too deep and so it’s all puffy and ugly. Let’s just say that I’m glad it’s on my back where it doesn’t show.

knitting 022

I know the picture is fuzzy, but, trust me, it doesn’t look any better in real life.

Number 5 was an interesting design. It’s on the back of my left ankle.

knitting 018

Number 6 is a fairy. I love me some fairies. You’ll notice that most of my tattoos are a bit small. That was because I’ve been poor most of my life. I couldn’t come up with the cash needed to get the really big ones, so I did my ankle work in pieces. It’s still not done, but having children has made me even poorer. Someday I might get it all finished. This first fairy is a perfect example of where I needed to get the tattoo a bit bigger to get all the great detail. It’s still pretty, but…Anyway, this is on the outside of my right ankle.

knitting 011

And I got number 7 by the same artist. It’s a hummingbird on the front of my left ankle. Can you picture that? I have on the one ankle, at each of the four points, a cross, hummingbird, yin yang, and design. I wanted to make it a solid piece made up of all these little tattoos.

knitting 015

Number 8 is the top of the montage of my left ankle. This was the first done by a young man named Craig. Craig has done the rest of my work from this point on. This goes all the way around my ankle.

knitting 014

Number 9 is one of my favorites. Of course it is, it’s a fairy! This is on the inside of my right ankle, opposite of my other fairy.

knitting 010

And I love number 10 too. Actually, number 10 started out as just a gray bunny on the side of my right calf. It was very boring and not well done. A few years after I got it, I had Craig pretty it up. And here’s what he did with it.

knitting 013

Number 11, though, is my pride and joy. I got this as a present for my 25th birthday from my brother in 2002. I got it right when foot tattoos stopped being taboo, but before they were trendy.

knitting 016

When I get some cash, I think I will have it touched up and make the flowers brighter colors. I need bright. The vines continue up my ankle, kind of wrapping around my other work. You can see that in some of the other pictures.

Numbers 12 and 13 are two big flowers that craig added shortly after I got my foot done. They were inteded to close off the bottom of my ankle piece and therefore give the impression of one big piece of work. I don’t think the effect was reached, however, and I plan to eventually get it all filled in with pretty stuff.

This on is on the backish part of my ankle, and I think it’s very pretty.

knitting 020

This one is on the frontish part and reminds me of Two-ey form Little Shop Of Horrors.

knitting 019

Since 2002, I’ve only gotten one other tattoo, and that’s a small star on my shoulder. My best friend, Erin, and I got these 3 or 4 years ago to signify our rather long friendship. (we’ve been BeFris since I was 5) It’s nothing special to look at, but it means a lot to me.

knitting 023
Sorry for the bad picture, it’s hard to get a shot of your shoulder!

So, that’s it, all my ink. It may seem like a lot, but since most of it is in one spot, I still have a lot of clean space. One day, when we are independantly wealthy, I plan to get more done and some of it touched up, but….well, that’s propbably gonna be a long time from now.

So, I hope I didn’t bore you. If so, I’m sorry, how ’bout a picture of my new haircut?

knitting 007

Man, I look tired! Kid’s will do that to you.

 

3 Responses to “Because I’m A Lemming…”

  1. Erin Says:

    Aw shucks! It means a lot to me too!

    Funny story… Caleb discovered the pink star on my lower back a few days ago and was mesmerized by it! He sat behind me for a good five minutes touching it and at one point, licked it. Weird kid.

  2. dee Says:

    First of all, LOVE the hair!

    The tattoos are pretty cool too. They are all so pretty…I have been wanting to get one on my shoulder for the longest time….a cross with a pink ribbon but haven’t done it yet. Any I get need to be easily covered because I am a teacher. My daughter has 5 large ones in different places and also dreams of finishing them.

  3. turtlegirl76 Says:

    LOVE the new shorter haircut! It looks awesome. You have some neat tattoos too!


Leave a Reply

