Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Yoga Socks July 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 5:57 pm

My brother’s fiance is a dancer. She also just had her 21st birthday last week. She’s also asked me on several occasions to make her some socks.

So, I took advantage of the situation and made her some.

knitting 004

Now, they’re really not what she’s been asking for. What she really wants is a pair of knee socks in funky colors. I totally plan on making her some someday. But I feel I should make a pair for myself first, so I can get down the construction. Plus, it’s gonna take time to knit knee socks and I didn’t have the time before her birthday. If you read my post a few days ago, you know that I also didn’t need the stress. So I thought the yoga socks were perfect becasue they were mindless.

knitting 001

They’re called yoga socks, but I think they will be perfect for dance rehearsals in the Winter. She still has the ball of her foot and heel to get traction, but her whole foot doesn’t have to freeze. I’m hoping she likes them, because they were dead easy and would be perfect to add to other gifts at Christmas and birthdays over the years. I could have fun making them fun.

knitting 006

Project: Yoga Socks by Claire Herne
Yarn: Wildfoote in Rock n’ Roll
Needles: US 2
Date Started: June 19. 2009
Date Completed: June 23, 2009
Mods: I did change things up a bit. I added a few rows of garter right before I bound off for the heel and right after I cast on again. I thought this might help with any rolling. Also, I think a size 2 needle was too big for the number of stitches. I would think she would like them a little bit tighter. So I think that if I make another pair, I’ll use 1’s.

 

2 Responses to “FO: Yoga Socks”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Cute! I love the garter ridge detail you added.

  2. rstyson Says:

    Neat, I bet she likes them.


Leave a Reply

