Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: A June Breeze July 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:05 pm

These are my June Personal Sock Club socks. I finished then a few days late, though.

The personal sock club is something that a few of us are doing where you make one pair of socks using your existing stash every month. With the shop closing and gifts, I’ve managed to amass 60 pairs worth of sock yarn, so I needed to do something to use it all…especially because I still want to buy more yarn. Sock yarn is my weakness, I tell you.

So, my Spring Forwards were my May socks and these are for June.

knitting 002

These almost didn’t get done. I only had one skein of yarn and I was afraid I’d run out. Now, I know that I’ve done other socks out of one skein, but those skeins were 215-225 yards. This skein only had 185. That’s when all the trouble started.

Because I was afraid I’d run out, I tried to change up the pattern. I failed…everytime. I changed the toe 3 times and everytime was worse. I tried a pedicure sock, a partial toe and, finally, a flip flop toe. They all looked bad, so I finally decided to take my chances and follow the pattern.

knitting 004

Turnes out, I needn’t have worried. I had plenty of yarn. I even had a little ball left over.

knitting 005

Project: Breeze by Jennifer L. Appleby (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Louet Gems in Cherry Red
Needles: US 1
Date Started: June 10, 2009
Date Completed: July 3, 2009
Notes: The reason it took so long is becasue I had to banish them for a little while after the toe debacle. Once I stopped being mad at them, I was able to do the second one in a week or so.

knitting 006

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Oh, and for those of you who were wondering, we still haven’t heard anything about that job for Ron. Ron called the guy the othewr day, but he wasn’t available. He hasn’t returned the call yet, so Ron will try him again tonight. I’m getting the feeling, though, that maybe this job isn’t God’s plan as I thought. While I’m bummed, I’m at peace with the fact that God will take care of us. And besides, we still haven’t found out for sure.

 

One Response to “FO: A June Breeze”

  1. Lissie Says:

    Those are very cute! I need to destash my sock yarn too!


Leave a Reply

