Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: A Shop Sample July 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:41 pm

Well, I’ve only been working on this for eleventy billion years, but it’s finally done.

knitting 005

This is the shop sample I started so many months ago. You may recall when I told you I’d been asked to make a blouse out of some new yarn the shop had as a way to highlight it and get people to buy it. Well, not more than a few weeks later, we got the news the shop was closing.

Since making the blouse for the shop had only been part of the plan, I continued working on it. You see, one of the regulars bought the yarn and had me make it to fit her very thin daughter. That way it could still be of use after the shop was done with it.

knitting 006

When I found out Sandra was planning to open her own shop and wouldn’t need the blouse for a few months, I decided to take a break from it. I had done the back panel and the sleeves, and had started on the front, but the almost 10″ of stockinette in fingering weight yarn was just about driving me crazy. I needed a break before I started hating it. So I stopped for nearly two months and knit on other things. It was wonderful.

But, soon the new shop, Knitting With Sandra, would open it’s doors. So I pulled out the top and knit again in earnest. It only took me another week and a half or so to finally finish it off.

knitting 003

I think the reason why the last bit went so fast is because I had finally gotten to the fun part, the cable bit. That makes all the difference for me. If it can keep my attention by changing things up regularly, I can knit things up very fast. It’s never ending basic stitches that tend to bore me and make things draw out.

knitting 002

Project: #21 Simplicity by Verena Design Team Spring 2009
Yarn: Araucania Lonco Solid
Needles: US 3 and 4
Date Started: March 21, 2009
Date completed: July 8, 2009
Notes: I wasn’t too keen on the way the pattern was written. I don’t think it’s for a novice knitter at all. There were too many place where they assumed you knew what you were supposed to do, places where they didn’t tell you. I was able to figure it out, but if I had tried this pattern a few years ago, I doubt I’d have been able to. Also, the yarn is very pretty and works perfectly with this pattern. However, it’s a complete bear to wind and the twist is loose. I worry about my weaved in ends coming undone. Other than that, it was a pleasure to knit with.

knitting 004

 

2 Responses to “FO: A Shop Sample”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    It turned out so beautiful!

  2. […] long after I finished this top for the shop, I was asked to do another. I say it’s for the shop, and it is, but I’m […]


Leave a Reply

