Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: June Lake Socks July 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:37 pm

(My cat is totally on my poopy list. I was almost done with this whole post and she erased the whole thing. I’m going to rewrite it now, but it will never be as good as the original. Just know that as you read.)

So. Camping. That’s what I did this last week. My folks have a RV and invited us to join them in the Sierra Nevadas. It’s gorgeous up there and I’m not just saying that because it was 20 degrees cooler there than it was here.

Another good thing about camping? I got to knit a lot. I mean, a lot! In fact, the only time I wasn’t knitting was when I was sleeping and cooking. My mom broke her hand a few weeks ago, so I did pretty much all the cooking. But it worked out because, had I not needed to put the needles down and cook, I probably would have run out of things to knit. It is nice, though, to get a pair of socks done in less than a week. I started them the second day up there and was able to wear them home.

knitting 001

(Also in the picture you see my girls being the most clean they were all week. What is it with camping and dirt and kids? It’s like the dirt attacked them until it covered every square inch of their bodies. We bathed them every night and the water was very nearly black after.)

These were an ok knit. I got a little bit bored with the easy pattern repeat after the second or third go round. I will say, though, that they were perfect for traveling, since I didn’t really have to pay much attention to them and they look adorable finished. The pattern was a perfect match to the yarn. There isn’t any pooling and the stitch definition is perfect.

knitting 002

Project: Toasty Twist Socks by Teresa Fox (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Happy Feet by Plymouth Yarns
Needles: Size US 1
Date Started: July 11, 2009
Date Completed: July 15, 2009
Mods: I actually changed these quite a bit. On a size 1 needle, 60 stitches fits my foot perfectly. The original pattern was calling for 68 stitches on sixe 2s. I knew the socks would just fall off. So, I adjusted it to work. Luckily, the pattern repeat was short, so I made it to be 60 stitches and knit it on 1s. The result is a perfect fitting sock.

On a side note: I made these with one skein of yarn. I felt that, after the Breeze incident, I would have plenty of yarn left over. I maybe shouldn’t have gotten so cocky. This is all the yarn I had left:

knitting

I was sweating bullets while working on that second toe, I tell ya.
Of course, it wouldn’t have been too terribly bad had I run out. Since there are so many colors in the yarn, I could have easily done the toes in a solid. But that would have meant that I would have had to take out the first toe. And I couldn’t have worn them home. All in all, it worked out better this way.

On another side note: I was so looking forward to being able to tour the local yarn stores and maybe even get some great sock yarn I’d never seen before. Well, turns out, there’s only one yarn store in all of that region. And, while it’s a cute little store called The Green Thread, it only had one brand of socks yarn, Lornas Laces. And, it only had about 4 colors and they were all solid and not colors I care for. And they were several dollars more than they are down here. I wasn’t about to buy yarn that cost more in a color I don’t like when I can get it at home. So, my yarn store tour was a bit of a let down. Oh well, maybe next trip.

 

2 Responses to “FO: June Lake Socks”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Cute socks! I love the look of that pattern with the yarn. Impressive doing it with 1 skein!

  2. dee Says:

    I have that exact color of happy feet…love it..did a plain basicsock pattern. they are one of my favs.


Leave a Reply

