Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: The Daughter’s Fuegos August 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:14 pm

I finished my Fuego socks just little while ago and had a generous amount of yarn left over. At first, I planned to put it away for my sock yarn blankie that I will make one day, but then I thought of how many times T has asked if the socks I’m making are for her, and how often she wears the first pair I made. So, I figured I’d make a mini pair of Fuegos for her.

knitting 010

These were fun and quick. It took a little over a day of knitting for each. I swear, patterns with 10 or so row repeats make socks fly!

knitting 012

Like with mine, I adjusted the heel to do a wrap and turn. And, obviously, I had to adjust the pattern to make it smaller than the original. Basically, I cast on 6 stitches and then increased to 48 before starting the pattern. In retrospect, 6 stitches was too few and makes the toe too pointy. Next time, I’ll start with 8 or so. Then, with 48 stitches, I did one V pattern instead of the two on the original. I did 3 repeats and then started the heel.

knitting 014

I’m very happy that the stitch count was right and resulted in a perfect striping instead of pooling. I was worried about that.

Anyway, after I did the heel, I added another 3 pattern repeats, including a pattern on the back of the leg, and then 5 rows of K1P1 ribbing before I bound off using EZ’s sewn bind off. (my new fave stretching bind off)

The result looks very much like mine, don’t you think?

knitting 015

Of course, mine have been washed a few times, so the crispness is gone a bit, but still. I’m rather pleased with the outcome.

Obviously, I made them a tad too big for her because I’d like her to be able to wear them for more than a week. Actually, we should get a lot of use out of them because, by the time T grows out of them, D should be able to wear them. That’s what I call thrifty. ;o)

knitting 020
(sorry for the fuzzy pic, it’s hard for a 4 year old to hold completely still)

Pattern: Fuego Socks by Rosi G. (Rav me!)
Yarn: Yarn Ahoy in Ablaze
Needles: US 1 ML
Date Started: August 17, 2009
Date Completed: August 19, 2009
Mods: See above.

This next picture is my favorite, but it doesn’t show the pattern, so I kept it for last.

knitting 018

 

2 Responses to “FO: The Daughter’s Fuegos”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Those pictures are precious.


Leave a Reply

