Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Chihuahua Sweater November 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:31 pm

I have a neighbor, Peggy, who’s been a realy help to me. She’s a stay at home mom also and has been there to watch my girls in an emergency. And, as you kow, emergencies come all too often in my world.

Anyway, I wanted to do a little something to show my gratitude, and, being on the poor side, it needed to be something small. (are you catching the tiny refrences?)

Well, Peggy’s got an itty bitty Chihuahua. He’s a bitty teeny one too. His name is Thor and he’s adorable. I thought a dog sweater would be the perfect thing.

knitting 003

Thankfully, Peggy thought so too. Thor wasn’t too thrilled about putting the sweater on, but once we got it on, he seemed ok with the whole thing.

knitting 002

The pattern is almost more of a recipe, in that you can add whatever you want to it. I chose to do it in two colors and add a cable to the back. I wish I’d made it a bigger cable, but this works too. And, bonus, it only took a few hours to make.

knitting 001

Project: Chihuahua Sweater by Staceyjoy Elkin (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Cascade 220 for the black and Knitpicks Swish worsted for the red. (The red was left over from the Hemlock Blanket)
Needles: US 5 and US 7
Date Started: October 5, 2009
Date Completed: October 6 2009
Mods: Not really a mod, but I did add the cable to the back and did it all in moss stitch instead of stockinette.

 

9 Responses to “FO: Chihuahua Sweater”

  1. dee Says:

    AAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am partial to chihuahuas…had one for 15 years. She’s in doggie heaven now…I wish I would have been knitting when she was around! I have a chihuahua/lhasa mix now who will wiggle herself out of ant garment I put on her 🙂

    • knittingdodo Says:

      Yeah, I have to do my dog knitting for other people’s dogs. I have a lab mix and she’s just a bit too big for knitting. It was fun making the sweater, though. Kind of like knitting for a baby. ;o)

  2. Becky Says:

    I can’t believe you made that poor little dog wear a sweater!!! That is what their fur is for! LOL

  3. Amy Says:

    Do you still have the pattern? Her website is down and I’d love to make this for my SIL’s chihuahua.

    • knittingdodo Says:

      I’m so sorry, I don’t have it anymore. I made the sweater so many years ago, and don’t often keep hard copies of the patterns I make. I can say, though, that there are a bunch of dog sweaters available on Ravelry, if you do a quick search. Wish I could be of more help!

      • Amy Says:

        Darn. Thanks. I really like this one because you custom fit it to the dog you’re knitting for. I asked someone else on Ravelry and they said the link was still good but I’ve tried 2 browsers on 2 different computers and it’s saying it can’t connect to the site. :-/ Does it open for you? http://www.redlipstick.net/knit/chihswe.html
        If it does can you save a copy and email it to me?

      • knittingdodo Says:

        No, I’m sorry, the link doesn’t work for me either. However, I did see that someone on Ravelry made this pattern in February. You may be able to contact her and see if she can help you out. Other than that, I’m not sure what you can do. I’m really sorry.

      • Amy Says:

        Thanks! Good idea.


Leave a Reply

