Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Nadine November 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 6:54 pm

Back in September I met my archnemesis. My total enemy. The bane of my existence. Wanna see it?

knitting

This is Nadine. Nadine is one of the patterns from the book, French Girl Knits. Now, I don’t want you to get a wrong impression of the book. The book is full of beautiful patterns and I would suggest that everyone buy it and use it. Just to prove that, I’ll tell you that, after Nadine, I made another pattern out of the book and totally LOVED it. So, definately, buy the book.

Just don’t knit Nadine.

I had thought that it would be interesting to make when the shop asked me to do it. I was even excited. But, as I got further and further along in the pattern, I realized that I would not be enjoying this particular knit.

I think it has to do with the kitchnering. I had to kitchner all the pieces together. In the front, that was 80+ stitches on each side. Now, we all know that I love to kitchner a toe. Love it, I do. But, that’s only 11 stitches on average and this was quite a bit more. And I had to do it four times! And, on a toe, all the stitches were on the needle. This I had to pick up half the stitches and I had to pick it up on the lace, so it wasn’t as straight forward as it would be on, say, stockinette. And, again, I had to do it four times!

And it wasn’t even that I could have just knit the pattern in the round, like I would do for most other patterns. I don’t know if you can tell in the photo, but the stockinette bits? Yeah, they’re knit sideways. Yup, sidways. So, I had to knit the whole thing in pieces and then k.i.t.c.h.n.e.r.it.all.together.

Not fun.

Not fun at all.

I do have to give some of the credit for my utter loathing of this project to the yarn. It’s linen. And it really, truly, honestly felt like I was knitting with twine. It even split like twine. Not fun for the hands.

I was so angry at this project that I only took one decent shot of it. And I’ve already showed it to you. Oh well, you don’t mind seeing it again, do you?

knitting

Project: Nadine: Tunic Tank by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes
Yarn: Louet Euroflax Geneva
Needles: US 7
Started: August 21, 2009
Completed: September 23 2009
Mods: None, but I seriously thought about throwing the whole thing away. Does that count as a mod?

As much as I disliked the making of this tank, I will have to say this. After it was washed and blocked, it did look pretty alright and the shop likes it.

 

2 Responses to “FO: Nadine”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Oh wow. You did a fab job on it! It looks worth the effort.

    • knittingdodo Says:

      Ah., man, but I hated every minute of it. Honestly, if I wasn’t getting $150 for making it, I would have thrown it out. There was nothing about this project I liked. I’m glad it’s over and done with it.

      But, thanks anyway.


Leave a Reply

