Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Wrenna November 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 7:13 pm

Remember in the last post when I told you that I knit another porject out of French Girl Knits and totally loved it?

Well, this is it.

knitting 001

Meet Wrenna. My loverly orange cardigan. I love it. It’s perfect. And, it’s very, very orange.

knitting 003

The yarn is Lamb’s Pride Bulky. The shop got a few discontinued colors in for dirt cheap and sold them to use for $3 a skein. Well, how could I pass that up? This whole thing took only 4 skeins. You can’t say no to a $12 sweater, you just can’t.

knitting 004

Now, those of you with the book or who are familiar with the pattern will see that I made some minor changes….like sleeves. Well, I had extra yarn and thought sleeves would be good.

Just for the record, I think I was right.

knitting 004

Project: Wrenna: Leather-Laced Cardigan by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Nature Spun Lamb’s Pride Bulky in Pumpkin
Needles: US17, yeah, one row was nearly an inch!
Date Started: September 23, 2009
Date Completed: October 1 2009
Mods: Well, as stated earlier, I added long sleeves, putting the lace bit on the sleeves. I also decided against the leather lacing and added a button band and buttons. I’ve got my mods for the sleeves on my Raverly page, feel free to steal them for your own Wrenna.

knitting 002

 

3 Responses to “FO: Wrenna”

  1. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Yay orange! What a great looking sweater. And fast! It looks great. I love the sleeves.

    • knittingdodo Says:

      There’s not many things in this life better than having a full sweater made in a week. Can’t beat size 17 needles for a quick project.

      And I thought you’d appreciate the orange. Most all of the patrons of my LYS have had their colors done, and they complain about all the colors that they can’t wear anymore. One in particular is like s, she loves earth tones and especially orange. Motst of the sweaters she made were in browns and oranges. Well, when she got her colors done, guess what? Orange is not on her pallette. She’s heartbroken. That’s why I won’t get my colors done.

  2. bagladyrox Says:

    It’s beautiful and I loved that you named your sweater!


Leave a Reply

