Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Men’s Grey Socks December 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 11:55 pm

Uncle John requested some house socks in Dallas Cowboys colors for Christmas. And, with a size 12 foot, I was grateful he wanted slippers. That meant I could use worsted weight yarn!

I want to say that this pattern was not very good. I got gauge perfectly, but the socks were way too narrow for a man. They would fit a woman fine, but not a man. Of course, I noticed this after I’d already finished the first and was halfway done with the second, so I had to rip out and start again.

Instead of adding stitches, I went up a few needle sizes and, while I was still worried they’d be too narrow, Uncle John assures me they fit nicely. He even sent me a picture to prove it, see?

102_0044[1] (3)

Project:
Mens Grey Socks by Lion Brand Yarn (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Blue Boy and White
Needles: US 6
Date Started: November 2 2009
Date Completed: December 4 2009
Mods: As stated above, I did them on 6’s istead of the 4’s and 5’s in the pattern.

 

Leave a Reply

