Knittingdodo’s knit rants

Yarn, Needles, An Extinct Bird……What More Do You Need?

FO: Swallowtail Shawl December 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — knittingdodo @ 10:52 pm

(K, this is the first of many Christmas FO posts, so be prepared)

At my church, we do secret pals. For those of you who don’t know what that is, you pick a name out of a hat and once a month you get that person a surprise gift of about $15 or so.  At the end of the year, you reveal yourself.  This past year, 2009, was the first year and we are continuing for next year. Anyway, I picked a perfect pal. Her name is Becky and she’s a very close friend of mine. She’s also a knitter, which makes her just that much more special. ;o) Being a knitter, she would have been the perfect recipient of knitted gifts, and I would have been thrilled to knit something for her every month.

However, since there are only 3 or 4 knitters in the whole church, and Becky and I are the only ones who knit regularly, I had to save my knitting for the last gift of the year, otherwise she’d know it was me right away.

Her favorite color is purple, and she’s a shawl type of person, so I knew way back in Feb. what I wanted to make her. However, I put it off all year and then had to scramble to get it done in time. I think I finished just a little under a week from when I was supposed to give it to her. What was it, you ask?

A Swallowtail Shawl

knitting 004

And she loved it! Which was good because knitting with lace weight yarn is a lot of work!

knitting 006

Project:  Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark (Rav Me!)
Yarn: Skacel Collection, Inc. Merino Lace
Needles: US 6
Date Started: November 14 2009
Date Completed: November 24 2009
Mods/Notes: No mods, I followed the pattern exactly.

knitting 005

 

One Response to “FO: Swallowtail Shawl”

  1. Cookie Says:

    It’s gorgeous! You did a wonderful job and I’m so glad it went to a good home.


Leave a Reply

